tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2011 : CLAIR OBSCUR - Sans Titre, 1992

CLAIR OBSCUR

Sans Titre, 1992

MusicCD
ClassicalDark WaveGothicMinimalUnclassifiable

[75/100]   

Infrastition
07/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Next to the aforementioned "Rock", "Sans Titre, 1992" is the other album by French coldwave-band Clair Obscur which has been reissued on Infrastition, again in beautiful large digipack and limited to 500 copies.

"Sans Titre, 1992" is perhaps the most anti-Clair Obscur that has been ever made.

Just like on "Rock", the band wanted to seek some unexplored horizons that ended up in an album with a rather subdued atmosphere where there's of course some space left for experiment. For example, in "Drive Me to the Beach" the French conversation is taken from Jean-Luc Godard's "Masculin, Féminin" or are the lyrics from "Ich weiss (nicht)" the verses from Die Lorelei by Heinrich Heine.

Art for art’s sake? Not really as you can just relax in your chair and dream away on its beauty, not giving a damn what’s it all about.

The most weird song is opener “Amore (la solution)” which sounds like Italo-pop from Umberto Tozzi, we kid you not! Of course it’s only the beginning and after some minutes you hear the typical Clair Obscur, they perhaps even took it a bit further on here.

There’s the ridiculous pop on “Stop”, the almost neo-classical piece “Tirésias” or the Erik Satie-inspired little gem that “O soleil” is and somewhere in this album you’ll even hear some bagpipes.

“Sans Titre, 1992” is indeed not the greatest classic Clair Obscur has ever made but it shows how varied this band was (or is). Sometimes bizarre, sometimes beautiful, sometimes just interesting but most of the time a beautiful fairy tale made in a motherless world.

 

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


NL

Een paar dagen eerder bespraken we “Rock” van deze Franse coldwaveband en nu is er ook "Sans Titre, 1992" "Sans Titre, 1992" werd oorspronkelijk (zoals de titel zelf zegt) uitgebracht in 1992 en is nu terug door Infrastition op de markt gegooid. Net als “Rock” (en de twee voorgaande reissues "Antigone" & "The Pilgrim's Progress") weeral in een prachtige digipack op slechts 500 exemplaren.

Je zou best kunnen stellen dat "Sans Titre, 1992" het meest anti-Clair Obscur album is dat deze Fransen ooit hebben uitgebracht. Net als bij “Rock” had deze avant-gardistische bende nood aan het zoeken naar nieuwe horizonten, wat resulteerde in een eerder gezapige plaat waar de nodige plaats gelaten werd voor wat experiment.
Zo zijn bijvoorbeeld de Franse dialogen in "Drive Me to the Beach" genomen uit Jean-Luc Godard’s "Masculin, Féminin" of zijn de teksten van "Ich weiss (nicht)" gewoon de versen van Die Lorelei van Heinrich Heine.
Moeilijk doen om moeilijk te doen? Niet echt, want je kan evengoed in je luie zetel wegzakken en je laten meeslepen door de schoonheid van de muziek en je geen moer aantrekken van waar het nu in feite allemaal om draait.

Het meest aparte nummer is zonder twijfel opener “Amore (la solution)” dat veel weg heeft van de Italopop waar Umberto Tozzi een patent lijkt op te hebben. We menen het!
Gelukkig duurt dit geintje slechts enkele minuten want vrij vlug nadien krijgen we de typische Clair Obscur-stijl voorgeschoteld, ook al drijven ze het hier een beetje verder.
Zo is er de riduculeuze pop van“Stop”, is “Tirésias” net geen klassiek of is het prachtige “O Soleil” duidelijk geinspireerd door Erik Satie, en dan hebben we het niet eens over de doedelzakken die ergens middenin dit album opduiken.

 “Sans Titre, 1992” is inderdaad niet meteen het grootste Clair Obscur-album bij uitstek, maar het toont wel aan hoe gevarieerd deze groep kan zijn..
Soms een beetje bizar, soms mooi, soms gewoonweg interessant en eigenlijk het meest van al een wondermooi sprookje in een harteloze wereld.

 

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


 

Next reviews
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
REZUREX • Dance of the dead
INCITE • Dare to dance
SKOLD • Anomie
ASK THE DUST • Covers And Stuff
DEADCIBEL • Klondike
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife

 

Other reviews from CLAIR OBSCUR
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.