tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon

CLAUDE SAUTET

Garçon

MusicCD
ComedyDrama

[79/100]   

Path
01/08/2015, Didier BECU

Before the terrible term feelgood film was invented, there was the cinema of Claude Sautet. Even if his greatest masterpiece is a gangster film (Classe Tous Risques), Sautet tried to make our lives better by showing fragments from daily life in films like Les Choses De La Vie en César et Rosalie Sautet previously worked with Yves Montand, but the producers thought that it would not be so easy to persuade him for this project. In 1983 Montand was still the fave actor of Costa-Gavras, the grand master of French political thrillers. In his latest film Sautet wanted to tell the story of a man who works as a waiter in a brasserie after an unsuccessful career as a tap dancer and dreamsof starting his own playground for children. It is a story that many actors would reject, but Montand immediately agreed after he read the paper-thin script. Garçon is not Montand's best film, but undoubtedly one of his funniest!

The film was a bit overlooked in 1983 and was only a hit in France because Montand is an institution there. In times of restored versions on Blu-ray (and also by the current offerings in the cinema that are sad) we have the ability to rediscover great classics, Garçon is an ultimate example. For 90 minutes we are in the company of the sympathetic Alex (Yves Montand) who works day in and day out like a madman to serve the customers. The kitchen is a real cauldron and he can hardly stand the stress, but the customer is king and so Alex puts on a smile, even though his private life is a mess. He lives with his best friend and colleague Gilbert (Jacques Villeret), but he dreams of a relationship with Claire (Nicole Garcia), but that does not work out so well.

Garçon is a great movie on two fronts. The film feels like a splendid musical (even though not one word is sung), but it is also the time spirit that ensures some hilarity. We can hardly imagine it today, yet it was normal in 1983 that a waiter gave you a dish with in his other hand a cigarette. The script writers made sure that Montand always had nice company. Alex is penniless, even a bit old and lives with a colleague in a little apartment, yet young women fall for his charm. And we could go on for a while, but Garçon is simply delicious French cinema with a brilliant Montand, the kind of film that we miss in the cinema halls today.

Didier BECU
01/08/2015


01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon

 

Next reviews
KARL BARTOS • Off The Record
JONAH FOREE (HARDWIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RYAN HUTMAN (HARDWIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HENRY KING • The Bravados
CRISTIAN SOTO VANELLI (DIE BRAUT, NEURAL EMBRYONIC, XIAN TRANCE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIOTMILOO & FRIENDS • La Pierre Soudée
JACQUES DERAY • Le Marginal
ROBERT PALMER • Essential albums by Robert Palmer
MIST • The Loop of Love
BRIAN DE PALMA • Redacted

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
THE POGUES FEATURING KIRSTY MACCOLL
Fairytale Of New York
19
06
0KONTROL
Traitors
18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)