tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/10/2013 : CLOé DU TRèFLE - D'une nuit à une autre

CLOé DU TRèFLE

D'une nuit à une autre

MusicCD
ElectroEthereal / Heavenly VoicesPopSinger Songwriter

[95/100]   

Trefle Prod.
01/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with, I know Cloé Since the 90's. I was member of the organisation of Woodjet Rock Festival and had to interview her, take pictures of her, write the promo article... Since them i kept following her. She played in the AB, Botanique, Dour Festival and so many other nice places.

20 years after that I get one of the nicest booklets I have ever seen, must have costed a fortune. The music has even a bit of electro influences. The French is very stylish, still with a little bit of An Pierlé influences. Love the nice and well worked out production. 'L'appel' is a stylish intro. 'Je pars' has nice violins and a nice drive. For years 'No Matter' was on my mp3 and later on my i-tunes (please if you don't know this song: go looking after it), as a fix song and I think this one will be added soon enough. 'L'epicier' sounds like a trip trough Brussels, with all the lowparts and the nice accents of people from all kind of parts of Europe who live in Brussels, all together. Somehow this song reminds me a bit of Front242, in a French version. Love the electro and the nice musical details. 'L'esquisse' is another nice electro minded track, with a vocal play, nice strings and funny little noises. A ravishing ecclectic song, with an angelic voice. 'Le Musée' is a classic track, meaning a lot of classic intruments have been used here. The lyrics are like a poem, sung as if it was a nice game of wordplay. 'Descendance' has some reggae flow in it, reflecting the city life & love. Maybe I should call it a city soundscape? I hear even some 80's and Miles Davis influences. 'Jef' is another city story about this guy, with a classic 'Underviewer' drive, love it. 'Chanchan' sounds as a song from the 60's with some electro wizz kid things (some drum' bass) and is sung in English. Love the bassline in this song and the sound of Cloé's voice. 'Même longitude mais bien plus au Nord' is a typical Cloé du Trefle sad song with the melancholic voice and dito story. It's clearly where this story is going and what the message is. It's clear why she was on the same stage as Ani DiFranco years ago. Top quality from Brussels! 'Avez-vous rencontré' is a very poetic song, with a great piano and the nice wordplay i know from this great artist. Nicely and smoothly building up the tension. 'L'effeuilleuse' is another great piano song, where you can hear no sound but the sound of great and talented people producing an angelic sound, with classic instruments. Love the violins and the cello, they add thi little extra. This is a song you need to hear and see during a gig, whilst holding your lover. You might shed a tear in the end. This song gives me goosebumps and goes straight to my bones. 'L'air semble déjà différent' starts very simple, almost a capella. Slowly building up, adding sounds and instruments. Without really noticing you will start to move and maybe even start to dance on this song. A great ending for a pearl, a beauty of the heart! Love the musical chaos in the end, taking it to the top, getting to the musical extasy!

Cloe did a great job, not only is the music great, but she dared to bring the story of an illegal living in Brussels. This album is the story of this person, nowadays a hot topic. So thumbs up for daring to bring this story!

I hope you will all embrace this talent from Brussels! I'm for sure still sold. It's a pleasure when you can see an artist grow, getting stronger, better, wiser and mature!

more info:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cloe-du-Trefle/146143049153?fref=ts

http://www.cloedutrefle.com/cloe/News.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=CbpqquLj-LM

review of a previous gig:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/cloe-lylac-live-at-the-botanique-10-10-2013-brussels-belgium/?viaadmin=1

new gig, 28/02/2014 at Ixelles. More info:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1454757508085654/?ref_newsfeed_story_type=regular&source=1

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/10/2013


 

Next reviews
KARL MARKOVICS • Atmen
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Control EP
ARTS OF EREBUS • An Open Case Of Parousia
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium
ROT ON THE MARCH • Era of the Penultimate Steps
• ESN X - Electric Summer Night 2013 - 28 september 2013
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Imprint Daath
NFD • Reformations
ROMAIN GRAVAS • OUR DAY WILL COME
VELOCHROME • A new design for love

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
06
Soft Cell's Tainted Love re-released by Cleopatra Records!
12
06
CARBON MARTYR Addresses Mankind & Technology With Debut Album
11
06
Darkwave Duo Band HANGING FREUD Speaks Of Loss And Transformation with 'Persona Normal'
11
06
30 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
10
06
30 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 43 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
11
06
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
11
06
PATIENCE
The Church (Night School, 2016)
10
06
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
09
06
FAUNA TWIN
Water On Mars
08
06
PERSEPHONE
Downfall