tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2018 : CONSPIRACY COVEN - Conspiracy Coven

CONSPIRACY COVEN

Conspiracy Coven

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Wave

[91/100]   

Sincronica
05/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Conspiracy Coven releases an album with the same name. This little jewel appears on the Sincronica label, which was founded in Spain in 2013. What else is there to say? Little, since it doesn’t say who is behind this musical project but it will not stop us from casting some light on this minimal / synth-wave gem.

On the menu is some straightforward minimal synth, produced by an army of analogue instruments. The intro ‘Strategy’ soft and sweet. In heavy contrast with ‘Steel & Fire’ which lashes out hard on body and limbs. ‘Plague’ is very minimalistic while ‘Reign’ is tapped from a darker and heavier synth barrel. A very tight sound, almost as indestructible and solid as … well … ‘indestructible’. An army of weird sounds degenerate into a bombastic masterpiece.

And just when it threatens to become too much, a beacon of light will meet you with ‘One Minute Silence’ but silence is anything but what you get here. ‘Deathbell’ boosts the tempo a bit with smooth and dark-wave undertone. ‘Burial Lights’ brings us some relative peace. A quiet rippling song with female vocals, which many will recognise.

Also ‘Crawl’ is more subdued and is full of ingeniously crafted electronica, cast from great melodies. There is also somewhat more experimental material on this disc like ‘Batcaves & Firebreathers’. The construction is more complex and the arrangements are very well done. And before we get finished off by ‘Ravaged’, we get the great minimal stomper ‘Beyond’.

The mystery will still last for a while and, if we can believe the label, we will perhaps never know the identity of the musicians behind this project. But what difference should that make to a music lover as long as the product is good? And good this LP is! The minimal-synth revival has yet another gem to be enjoyed, minimal synth of a very high level.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/05/2018


NL

Conspiracy Coven brengt een gelijknamig album uit. Het kleinood verschijnt op het in 2013 in Spanje opgerichte label Sincronica. Wat valt er nog meer te zeggen? Weinig, aangezien niet wordt vrijgegeven wie achter dit muziakle project zit. Maar dat weerhoudt ons er niet van dit minimal/synthwave juweeltje te belichten.

Op het menu rechttoe rechtaan minimal synth, geproduceerd door een leger aan analoog materiaal. De intro Strategy is braafjes een zeemzoet. In zwaar contrast met Steel & Fire dat met stevige uithalen de aanval op lijf en leden inzet. Plague is heel minimalistisch, Reign tapt dan weer uit een donkerder en zwaarwichtiger synth-vaatje. Een heel strakke sound. Onverwoestbaar stevig zoals Indestructible. Een leger aan weirdo geluiden ontaardt in een bombastisch meesterwerk.
Als het net teveel dreigt te worden komt een lichtbaken je tegemoet: One Minute Silence. Maar 'silence' is er allerminst. Deathbell drijft het tempo nog wat op met een darkwave ondertoon. Met Burial Lights krijgen we dan toch wat relatieve rust. Een rustige kabbelend nummer met vrouwelijke vocalen, die door velen herkend zullen worden.
Crawl is ook ingetogener en zit vol ingenieus uitgedokterde en in geweldige melodieën gegoten electronica. En er zit ook ietwat experimenteler materiaal op deze schijf, met Batcaves & Firebreathers. Complexer van opbouw is het in ieder geval. Een arrangement om 'u' tegen te zeggen. En vooraleer door Ravaged uigeleide gedaan te worden, krijgen we met Beyond een minimal-kraker van formaat.

Het mysterie zal nog even duren, en als we het label mogen geloven zullen we de identiteit van de musici achter dit project nooit kennen. Maar wat maakt het een muziekliefhebber uit, zolang het product goed is? En dat is deze LP volledig. De synthrevival heeft er weer een juweeltje bij: minimal synth van een heel hoog niveau.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/05/2018


 

Next reviews
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
DER HAUPTMANN • (2017) German-Polish-French biographical drama, black & white, directed by Robert Schwentke based on true facts.
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn