tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/04/2014 : CREMATORY - Antiserum

CREMATORY

Antiserum

MusicCD
Electro RockGothic RockHeavy Metal

[91/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
03/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Crematory no longer need to fear comparison with the international competition, Germany’s most popular Gothic Metal Band having earned itself an excellent reputation at home and abroad over the past 23 years. One reason for this is the great recognition value of their songs, along with the band’s characteristic style and their unconditional determination to continue to grow as artists. None of their albums so far is a copy of any of its predecessors; each of them is an independent recording with unique features and fresh ideas. So if Crematory has decided to pick up the electronic elements from Revolution (2004) on their latest album Antiserum, they do so with different parameters and future-oriented visions. So far the promotional talk, let’s start talking about the album!

To start with the cover, the images and the fine fantasy art! I just love it! Before I start the real review I must say that I really loved listening to it, it was sometimes hard to focus on the reviewing part as the music was taking me away from my keyboard!

'Apocalyptic Vision' is a nice intro that unveils the story of the album! 'Until the end' has a nice melodic sound and a great mix between the brutal grunting (Matthias) and the clean/melancholic voice (Felix). Love the electronics in it too! The guitars blend in well with the melodic sound! 'Shadowmaker' has a fast & energetic drive, love the mix between electronics and the typical gothic metal sound, the mix of the clean and the brutal voice! The metallic computer voice is also a nice ad, giving it an extra dimension! 'If you believe' is partially sung in German (harsh voice) and English (clean voice), it sounds a bit like Rammstein on heavy fuel. One thing is for sure: the 2 languages are blending in perfectly and I love the melodic sound! 'Inside your eyes' has a more death metal-minded sound until the clean voice gives it a more melancholic & desperate sound! 'Kommt näher' sounds as if I have heard it before! Love the melody & the well worked out sound. The chorus is despite the fact that it is in German very catchy (my German is not good enough to understand it fully)! 'Irony of fate' is yet again a great mix between electronics & a great melodic metal sound & also a great mix between a clean voice and a harsh and brutal voice. I love the lyrics & the catchy chorus! 'Virus' sounds a bit like Rammstein, for sure in the beginning when the harsh voice is singing. The backing lifts up the song to a higher level. Love the synth that plays an important role in this song. 'Back from the dead' starts like a symphonic metal song and gets more pumped up by the backing and more electronics. This one must be a bomb on stage! 'Welcome' starts all fired up & becomes more symphonic after 30 seconds. This one sounds like a perfect opener of closing song for a concert! Love the high tempo & the chorus! 'Antiserum' starts with a piano synth and gets lead by Matthias before the great voice of Alex also jumps in. This song gives back the hope and is a great end song! Love the melodic and melancholic sound in it!

I hope to see these guys back on stage, as their passage at Eurorock and Graspop is way too long for me ago for me! I really enjoyed their album! It was hard starting the next review as it's the kind of pearl that stick on you and makes all the rest sound like rubbish! Great work!

The people who buy the digipack version get 2 extra tracks:


Shadowmaker – Elektro Mix (bonus track)
Shadowmaker – Centhron Mix (bonus track)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
03/04/2014


 

Next reviews
JEFF RENFROE • The Colony
PORTION CONTROL • Unrest in the Grime
FATAL CASUALTIES • SITM remixes
JACKSON FIREBIRD • Cock Rock
STUART BLUMBERG • Thanks For Sharing
NEURO-SENTENCE • The Shores of Anhedonia
JOEL & ETHAN COEN • Inside llewyn Davis
SOFT METALS • Lenses
WALLACE WORSLEY • The hunchback of Notre Dame
TEMPLES • live at the Botanique, 31/3/2014, Brussels, Belgium

 

Other reviews from CREMATORY
CREMATORY • Monument

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO ROCK + GOTHIC ROCK + HEAVY METAL
HELL BOULEVARD • Hangover from Hell
TRAFFICJAM • Lonely Happy
HERRSCHAFT • Les 12 Vertiges
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings