tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/01/2016 : CRONOS TITAN - Valium

CRONOS TITAN

Valium

MusicCD
ElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial

[88/100]   

Emmo.biz
17/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

There is a real story behind the release of this album. Even though the disc was released last year, the music dates from 1997, but cruel events decided that mankind had to wait twenty years to hear it.

Titan Cronos is a Norwegian duo consisting of Per Aksel Lund Green (who played for 4 years with Apoptygma Berzerk) and Preben Bjønnes (who you might know of Defcon 4 that scored a small EBM hit Masturbation).

Brides Of Christ was the first album, but with Valium everything literally fel lto pieces. The master tapes were destroyed in a flooded basement. The two were so disappointed (all their sound material was damaged too) that they had no desire to re-record anthing. A record that never would see the light of day until 2014. By accident Per found three DAT tapes with the recordings of the album in an old T-shirt box. The tapes were given to Roy Julian Digre (Technomancer) who made the recordings ready for digital release. It was not even that hard to find a label because Emmo.biz immediately wanted to release the CD.

This disc contains seven songs and they all have the same title: Valium. It is the kind of dark wave indus-techno that you better listen to with headphones. Without using silly clichés, you can compare the tracks with valium because the music brings your soul to rest. Repetitive indus beats with a lot of beauty, comparable to the early work of Chris & Cosey. It is both experimental and danceable, and with a very naughty cover!

A CD that belongs in any (good) indus-electronics collection!

Didier BECU
17/01/2016


NL

Aan de release van deze cd is een heel verhaal verbonden. Ook al werd het schijfje vorig jaar uitgebracht, dateert de muziek van 1997, maar de natuur bepaalde dat het bijna twintig jaar zou duren vooraleer de mensheid dit werkje zou horen.

Cronos Titan is een Noors duo dat bestaat uit Per Aksel Lundgreen (hij zat 4 jaar bij Apoptygma Berzerk) en Preben Bjønnes (die je misschien kent van Defcon 4 met het EBM-hitje Masturbation).

Brides Of Christ was de eerste lp, maar met Valium liep alles letterlijk in het honderd. De mastertapes waren vernield door een ondergelopen kelder en het duo was zo ontgoocheld (ook al hun geluidsmateriaal was naar de haaien) dat Cronos Titan helemaal geen zin had om het hele boeltje opnieuw op te nemen. Een plaat die dus nooit het daglicht zou zien, tot Per in 2014 toevallig in een oude doos met T-shirts nog drie DAT-tapes vond met daarop de opnames van het album. De bandjes werden aan Roy Julian Digre (Technomancer) bezorgd, die de opnames klaarmaakte voor een digitale release. Het was niet eens zo moeilijk om een verdeler te vinden, want Emmo.biz was meteen bereid om de muziek op cd uit te brengen.

Dit schijfje bevat zeven nummers die allemaal Valium heten. Het is inderdaad het soort darkwave-indus-techno dat je best met de hoofdtelefoon beluistert. Zonder onnozele clichés te gebruiken, kun je de tracks met valium vergelijken, want ze brengen je ziel tot rust. Repetitieve indusbeats die veel schoonheid bevatten en heel wat vergelijkingen vertonen met het beginwerk van Chris & Cosey. Het is zowel experimenteel als dansbaar en met een zeer ondeugende hoes!

Een schijfje dat thuishoort in iedere (betere) indus-electronica-collectie! 

Didier BECU
17/01/2016


 

Next reviews
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
FRAGILE GODS • The Future Never Came
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room
THE PASSIONS • Michael & Miranda
LAMB • 5
THE SWEETEST CONDITION • Edge Of The World
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • LOLA KUMTUS
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
QUAL • Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • VERSAILLES

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + INDUSTRIAL
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
HYSTERESIS • There is no self

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything