tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

06/01/2016 : CRYSTAL SODA CREAM - Rationale Arbeitsschritte

CRYSTAL SODA CREAM

Rationale Arbeitsschritte

Music7 inch
Cold WaveNeue Deutsche WellePost Punk

[84/100]   

KIM Records
06/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Everything returns one day, even Neue Deutsche Welle. With a name like Crystal Soda Cream, you might suspect some sugar-sweet pop that makes you sick, but this post-punk band from Vienna is rather one that makes you feel alive. Two years ago this trio released the album Escape From Vienna on Totally Wired Records, and now there is a brand new single on KIM Records.

The sound of the band is often compared to the cold wave period of The Cure (you can hear that on the B-side Eyeline Statues that could have been a Pornography track), but the flipside Rationale Arbeitsschritte is something completely different. Dark post-punk with a nod to the German punk noise of Malaria!

This single could have been released in 1981, but it is a new band. With some luck Crystal Soda Cream can play next to Ash Code or She Past Away. Quite sublime!

Didier BECU
06/01/2016


NL

Alles keert ooit terug, zelfs de Neue Deutsche Welle. Met een naam als Crystal Soda Cream verwacht je misschien eerder zeemzoete pop die je misselijk maakt, maar deze postpunkband uit Wenen is er eerder eentje die je wakker schudt. Twee jaar geleden bracht dit trio op Totally Wired Records de lp Escape From Vienna uit, en nu is er een gloednieuwe single op KIM Records.

Het geluid van de band wordt vaak vergeleken met de coldwaveperiode van The Cure (en dat hoor je zonder twijfel op het B-kantje Eyeline Statues dat zo op Pornography kan), maar Rationale Arbeitsschritte is toch iets helemaal anders. Donkere postpunk met een knipoog naar het Duitse punklawaai van Malaria!

Deze single kon met het grootste gemak in 1981 uitgebracht zijn, maar het gaat wel degelijk om een nieuwe band. Met wat geluk kan Crystal Soda Cream meespelen in de mooie vijver van Ash Code of She Past Away. Tamelijk subliem dus!

 

 

Didier BECU
06/01/2016


 

Next reviews
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
THE MARY HART ATTACK • Ghent, The Video 04/01/16
METAL DISCO • Fetish Club Anthems
KABAK • Avu
MOTH • First Second
SOULSAVERS • Kubrick
JORIS LAARMAN • Joris Laarman Lab (Groningen, Groninger Museum, until/tot 10/04/2016)
BRIAN JAMES • The Guitar That Dripped Blood
LUCA BANDINI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • Anyway

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party