tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/01/2019 : DAEMONIA NYMPHE - PSYCHOSTASIA

DAEMONIA NYMPHE

PSYCHOSTASIA

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval
Self-released
08/01/2019, Tom PLOVIE

In 2013 the Greek folk ensemble Daemonia Nymphe released the album ‘Psychostasia’. That happened through the French label Prikosnovénie. At the end of November 2018 a re-release of this acclaimed album came out, this time self-released and with an additional 3 extra tracks. It is an opportunity to rediscover this album or... to discover it, as for me.

The opening track immediately refers to Greek mythology. We’re introduced to the God of the West Wind: Zephyros. With 'Zephiros's Enlightening Anemos' we get a song that immediately sets the tone for the whole album. With mystical chants, catchy rhythms, folky and ritual atmospheres, the link can be made with the music of Dead Can Dance, Lisa Gerrard, Ataraxia or Mila Mar.

The two names connected to Daemonia Nymphe are Spyros Giasafakis and Evi Stergiou. They reinforce themselves with rotating musicians to create an ethereal ensemble. They seek inspiration in ancient Greek instruments such as the lyre, kithara, pandura, santur and darbuka, to give a few examples. With this, they distinguish themselves from the groups earlier mentioned: they seek (and find) that typical Hellenistic sound. Another very important instrument to their sound is the voice. Influences of the collaboration with singer Dessislava Stefanova (head of the London Bulgarian Choir) is obviously heard as in the title track 'Psychostasia'.

In the official video clip of the pretty walzing 'Selene's Awakening Horos' they take us back to a self-recreated past: a hedonistic party where I see hidden vampires hanging around - the type as seen in 'Interview with the Vampire'. Delicious imagery. The use of masks and theatrical outfits during live performances put the audience, besides the music, also visually in the right mood. Fun fact: their music was used during the Gucci Spring / Summer 2016 Fashion Show.

Back to the music with 'Nemesis Rhamnousia', an enchanting song in which the reciting male voice and Greek (?) lyrics immediately recall a dark ritual sacrifice. 'Thracian Gaia' lingers because of folky rhythm and timbre (just like 'Deo's Erotas'). 'Politeia of the Unnamed' is a bit too cheesy for me. In 'Nature's Metamorphosis' we end up in a tribal séance with lamenting chant and a well-blending didgeridoo at the end. On 'Enchanting Oneiro' it sounds more introvert and fragile again. Dark mysticism, this time with whispering and reciting voice, forms the core of 'Hypnos'.

The new songs fit nicely with the first release. With a few broken chords and many wordless “aahs” the ensemble continues to cloak themself within a mysterious veil, as to be heard in 'Psyches' Choros'. You can put the beautifully hypnotic 'The Journey of the Psyche' on repeat without being bored. After all, four minutes are too short for me to make a journey of the psyche. The very last track is 'Asterofeggis Nyx', a final and fitting climax full of spells and wandering, lost entities. Haunting!

With tracks that have been recorded since 2008 this is, 10 years later, an album that has been made with great care and love. Let's hope that with the next new songs they can fill a full album again and release it. I am looking forward to continue my journey of further discovering this fascinating Greek world.

Daemonia Nymphe can be seen live on Black Easter on Saturday April 20th 2019!

Tom PLOVIE
08/01/2019


 

Next reviews
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Other reviews from DAEMONIA NYMPHE
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
FOLK FOR THE PEOPLE • Folk for the People: a benefit compilation for the victims of repression in Ukraine
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
ASYNJE • Genkaldt

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything