tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DAGEIST - 40

DAGEIST

40

MusicCD
Cold WaveIndustrialPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A group we currently read more and more about is Dageist (a contraction of Das Geist): a French duo consisting of David Schiavoni and Frédéric Strzelczyk.

40 is their debut mini-CD on which you find eight songs. Once you start listening, it becomes obvious why Dageist is cited a lot in alternative circles: after all, this northern French duo found the ideal balance between indus rock and cold wave. It has enough power, but at the same time it contains a high dose of melancholy.

Right from the opening track Lake Of Love we hear intelligent electronics, but especially the beautiful cold wave guitars that refer to The Cure. The melody is pretty poppy, yet it also sounds punky. A brilliant start.

The French alternative scene always had something with melancholy. Even though the music is miles away from it, you hear here the same desperation in In My City as in Trisomie 21’s music.

Amazing is more rock, while No One Is Innocent is more indus. The best track is Demon's Time, even though the Clan Of Xymox influences are obvious.

We never believed in hypes, but if Dageist is one, then we gladly will make an exception!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Een groep waarover je tegenwoordig meer en meer leest is Dageist (een samentrekking van Das Geist): een Frans duo dat uit David Schiavoni en Frédéric Strzelczyk bestaat.

40 is hun debuut, een mini-cd waarop je acht nummers vindt. Eens je begint te luisteren, wordt het overduidelijk waarom Dageist steeds maar wordt aangehaald in alternatieve milieus: dit Noord-Franse duo heeft immers het ideale evenwicht tussen indusrock en cold wave gevonden. Het klinkt hard genoeg, maar tegelijkertijd bevat het een hoge dosis melancholie die wellicht geen mens onberoerd laat.

Meteen in de openingstrack Lake Of Love horen we intelligente electronica, maar vooral schitterende coldwavegitaren die naar The Cure refereren. De melodie is vrij poppy en toch klinkt het ook punky. Een schitterende start.

De Franse alternatieve scène heeft altijd wel iets met melancholie gehad. Ook al staat de muziekstijl er uiteindelijk mijlenver van af, hoor je in In My City dezelfde wanhoop als bij Trisomie 21.

Amazing is iets meer rock, No One Is Innocent is dan weer meer indus. De mooiste track is sowieso Demon’s Time, ook al zitten de Clan Of Xymox-invloeden daar voor veel tussen.

We hebben nooit in hypes geloofd, maar als Dageist er toch eentje zou zijn, dan maken we graag een uitzondering!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DILLY DALLY • Sore
IAMX • North Star
HEAVEN 17 • Penthouse And Pavement
JOE JACKSON • Brussels, AB (22/02/16)
MEDIUM WAVE • Pleasure
NASH THE SLASH • Dreams And Nightmares / Bedside Companion
DARK DOOR • Post Mortem
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • The Mercy-Go-Round
THE GODFATHERS • Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)
PET SHOP BOYS • Night Life

 

Other reviews from DAGEIST
DAGEIST • Sexy
DAGEIST • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (25/06/2016)

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace