tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins

DANIEL STAMM

13 Sins

Movie
Horror

[55/100]   

E1
21/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Imagine this. You’re sitting in your car and get a phone call in where a voice demands you to beat a fly to death and then eat it. If you do this then you’ll find a huge sum of money on your bank account. Agreed, you have to be a die-hard vegetarian to say no to this, but most people would simply agree, not? Elliott Brindle (Mark Webber) takes the offer as well as he can use the money. The poor guy has just been sacked, his wife is pregnant and to top it all he has to take care about his mentally handicapped brother. The poor guy doesn’t realise that he’s involved in a web of sadistic dirty games. He is forced to fulfil 13 sins and the further the game gets, the more extreme the tasks become! If he refuses he not only looses the money, the game leader will also inform the police.

Rich people who abuse the poor for playing dirty games is nothing new, just think of The Hunger Games. But still, the director who previously made The Last Exorcism has come up with a fresh movie. The sins are bloody, but quite original. There’s a lot of tension going around, even if Stamm looses himself in the end by adding too many plots that are not quite logic. The acting is decent and in all honesty, that’s another rare thing in horror movies, not?

So to be short: the remake of the Thai horror classic 13: Game Of Death from 2006 is a tip, even if Stamm simply hopes to profit from the torture porn-genre.

13 Sins is now out on DVD and Blu-ray on E1.

Didier BECU
21/08/2014


NL

Stel je voor. Je zit in je wagen en krijgt een telefoontje waarin je wordt gevraagd om een vlieg dood te slaan en die vervolgens op te eten. Doe je dat dan heb je binnen een paar luttele seconden een grote som geld op je bankrekening staan. Toegegeven, fervente vegetariërs zouden misschien serieus twijfelen aan deze opdracht, maar de meeste mensen zouden het voorstel gretig aannemen. Zo ook Elliott Brindle (Mark Webber), vooral omdat hij het geld zeer goed kan gebruiken. De kerel is net ontslagen, zijn gezin wordt weldra uitgebreid en op de koop toe moet hij zich ook nog bekommeren over zijn geestelijk gehandicapte broer. Wel weet de pineut niet dat hij daardoor in een web van sadistische spelletjes is gewikkeld. In totaal moet hij 13 opdrachten uitvoeren die gaandeweg het spel meer en meer extreem worden. Weigert hij om verder te gaan, dan verliest hij in een oogwenk alles en wordt de politie ingelicht over zijn daden.

Rijke mensen die arme drommels manipuleren voor het spelen van perverse spelletjes is niks nieuws, denk maar aan The Hunger Games. Desalniettemin weet regisseur Daniel Stamm die eerder het lauwe The Last Exorcism draaide dit veel gebruikte horrorgegeven op een vrij originele manier in filmvorm te gieten. De opdrachten zijn bloederig, maar origineel. De film is spannend, ofschoon Stamm in de finale de trappers verliest door net iets te veel onlogische plotwendingen in zijn verhaal te stoppen. En zelfs het acteerniveau is tamelijk hoog en dat is ook niet zo’n vanzelfsprekend iets in de horrorwereld.

Kortom deze remake van de Thaise 13: Game Of Death uit 2006 is een aanrader, zelfs indien je huivert bij de gedachte dat Stamm gewoon op de gevreesde martelporno-wagen springt!

Didier BECU
21/08/2014


21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins 21/08/2014 : DANIEL STAMM - 13 Sins

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret