tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

27/12/2015 : DARK X-MAS 2015 - Waregem, Expo (26/12/2015)

DARK X-MAS 2015

Waregem, Expo (26/12/2015)

Concert
27/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Waregem is in Belgium, just like Leipzig in Germany, the cradle of goth. Anyone who lost his heart to a black planet, one day ended up in the city that most Belgians associate with horse races. When driving during the Christmas weekend after all these years ( 23 to be exact ) to the city where everything started, many gothic fans had a strange feel. The Invitation Organization organized in Waregem Expo a festival with a unique concept : to invite seven band that formed the basis of the goth past and ask them to play a set of old material. Admittedly , it felt at times like a trip in a time machine, but with lots of quality and fun.

Someone always has the misfortune to be the first, and Saturday that happened with Der Prager Handgriff from North Rhine- Westphalia. Some festival visitors still are en route or just haven’t found the way that leads to the stage. Too bad for them, as despite the low sound volume , the duo showed with skill that they are one of the best acts of the Neue Deutsche Harte scene. The beats definitely should be louder, but the energy was there. Afterwards Stefan Schärer joked that now his job is done, he finally could start his holiday (a winter trip without snow). Granted, in der Natur!

The second act was The Breath Of Life. Even if they earn more respect, they can say with pride that they are Belgium’s most important darkwave band. The difference between then and now is enormous. What started out as a nice wave band with a heavenly voice (Isabelle Dekeyser), has finally become the best Belgian band in its genre. The guitars, the violin, the drums and Isabelle's voice echoed with force. No, they were not the most danceable act of the day, but by far the most beautiful one. And those sound problems were away as well!

Sometimes a music fan has to forget the wrong things. Many concertgoers still remember the performance of The Eternal Afflict during Necropolis five years ago. Memorable is not exactly the word to use, but that was different at Dark Xmas. They may have only one hit (San Diego), but thanks to an unstoppable energy The Eternal Afflict managed to be the surprise of the festival. No-one expected it.

Tastes can differ, and that is why we choose to write something about the atmosphere, rather than reviewing the bands. I personally thought that the better bands were more in the middle of the festival. The most professional group of the festival surely was Plastic Noise Experience. Claus Kruse also dug in the past, and performed some songs from tapes (in days when tape releases were quite common). Plastic Noise Experience played a tight set, and they were without doubt the EBM highlight of the evening

.In our series in which we ask artists to name the records that changed their lives, it is impressive to see what impact Claus Larsen of Leather Strip has. It took a while before Claus and Kurt had the venue under their spell, but with every song you could feel the adrenaline rising. Finally, the audience was dragged into an ultimate dance party, and with classics like Strap Me Down, Adrenaline Rush or Japanese Bodies that couldn’t be different!

The last two acts of the evening were bands that defined the goth history with their visual shows. These days everybody talks about Grausame Tochter, but Umbra Et Imago were actually the first band that brought erotica on stage. There’s surely some exciting things to see, but many forget that Umbra Et Imago is also an excellent goth rock band that paved the way for Rammstein with albums like Mea Culpa. Umbra Et Imago was, along with The Breath Of Life, the only guitar band on the festival. Occasionally you could hear a false not and we hope that one day Rock Me Amadeus will be skipped from the set, but ​​the German sadomasochists performed a wonderful set with classics like Gothic Erotic or Kleine Schwester. You have to love it, but if you do, then you’re addicted!

The party ended with the group for whom it all started in Waregem : Das Ich. A few years ago front man Stefan Ackermann became so ill that it seemed like the curtain has fallen for the Bayreuth band. Stefan healed and Bruno Kramm could persuade him to continue the Das Ich adventure. Yesterday, it became clear that Stefan is the soul of the band. If Das Ich is a circus with Kramm as a clown , then Stefan Ackermann is the magician with the voice.

Soon you see on our pages the photos by Xavier.

Didier BECU
27/12/2015


NL

Wat Leipzig voor de Duitse gothscène betekent, is Waregem voor België. Iedereen die zijn hart heeft verpand aan de zwarte plunje, belandde ooit wel in de stad die voor de meeste landgenoten verbonden blijft met paardenkoersen. Het voelde voor menig gothicfan dan ook wat vreemd aan om tijdens het kerstweekend na al die jaren (23 om precies te zijn) naar het vroegere gothmekka te gaan. The Invitation Organization organiseerde in de Waregemse Expo een festival met een heel eigen concept: zeven groepen uitnodigen die aan de basis van weleer lagen en hun een set laten spelen met louter oud materiaal. Toegegeven, het voelde bij moment meer aan als een trip met een tijdmachine , maar dat kon noch de kwaliteit noch de pret drukken.

Iemand heeft altijd wel de pech om de eerste te zijn, en dat overkwam zaterdag Der Prager Handgriff uit Noordrijn-Westfalen. Sommige festivalbezoekers zijn nog onderweg of hebben nog niet meteen de weg naar het podium gevonden. Jammer voor hun, ondanks het te stille geluid, toonde het duo met verve aan dat ze één van de beste acts uit de Neue Deutsche Härte zijn. De beats mochten beslist wat luider, maar de energie was er. Na afloop grapte Stefan Schärer dat nu zijn taak erop zit, hij eindelijk op reis kon vertrekken (wintersport zonder sneeuw). We gunnen het hem van harte, in der Natur!

De tweede act was The Breath Of Life. Ook al verdienen ze meer respect, kan deze formatie er prat op gaan dat ze de darkwavetrots van België zijn. Het verschil tussen vroeger en nu is gigantisch groot. Wat ooit begon als een leuk wavebandje met een magistrale zangeres (Isabelle Dekeyser) is na decennia uitgegroeid tot de beste Belgische band in zijn genre. De gitaren, de viool, de drums en Isabelles stem weergalmden met kracht in de Expo. Neen, ze waren niet de meest dansbare act van de dag, wel met stip de allermooiste. En plots werd dat geluid zeer goed!

Soms moet je als muziekfan ook de foute dingen vergeten. Menig concertbezoeker herinnerde zich het optreden van The Eternal Afflict tijdens Necropolis vijf jaar geleden. Memorabel is niet bepaald het te gebruiken woord, maar dat was het gisteren tijdens Dark Xmas wel. Ze hebben misschien maar één hit (San Diego), maar dankzij een niet te stoppen energie slaagde The Eternal Afflict erin om de verrassing van het festival te worden. Geen mens die het had verwacht.

Smaken verschillen, en het is daarom dat we voor een sfeerverslag kiezen. Zelf vond ik dat de kwaliteit meer in het midden van het festival lag. De prijs voor meest professionele groep ging ongetwijfeld naar Plastic Noise Experience. Ook Claus Kruse greep met plezier terug naar het verleden, zelfs naar nummers uit tapes (toen tapereleases nog heel gewoon waren). Plastic Noise Experience speelde een strakke set, en was zonder twijfel het EBM-hoogtepunt van de avond.

In onze reeks waarin wij artiesten vragen naar de platen die hun leven hebben veranderd is het indrukwekkend om te zien welke invloed Claus Larsen met Leather Strip uitoefent. Samen met zijn wederhelft Kurt, duurde het een tijdje vooraleer Claus de zaal in zijn ban kreeg, maar bij ieder nummer voelde je zo de adrenaline stijgen. Ten slotte werd de hele zaal meegesleurd in het dansfestijn, en met klassiekers als Strap Me Down, Adrenaline Rush of Japanese Bodies kan dat ook niet anders!

De twee laatste acts van de avond waren bands die de gothgeschiedenis hebben bepaald door hun visuele shows. Tegenwoordig heeft iedereen het over Grausame Tochter, maar eigenlijk waren het Umbra Et Imago die als eerste erotica op het podium brachten. Het zorgt wel voor het nodige kijkplezier, maar menig muziekfan vergeet daardoor toch dat Umbra Et Imago in de eerste plaats een uitmuntende gothrockband is die met platen als Mea Culpa de weg voor Rammstein heeft geëffend. Umbra Et Imago was, samen met The Breath Of Life, de enige gitaarband. Af en toe was er wel eens een vals nootje te bespeuren of mag men Rock Me Amadeus zonder twijfel uit de set bannen, toch zorgden de Duitse sadomasochisten voor een heerlijke set met klassiekers als Gothic Erotic of Kleine Schwester. Je moet ervan houden, zoveel is waar…

Het feestje werd afgesloten met de groep voor wie het in Waregem allemaal begon: Das Ich. Een paar jaar geleden raakte frontman Stefan Ackermann zo ziek, dat het leek alsof het doek definitief over de band was gevallen. Stefan genas en Bruno Kramm kon hem overhalen om het Das Ich-avontuur verder te zetten. Gisteren werd het ook zonneklaar dat Stefan de ziel is van de band en de beweegbare keyboards niet meer dan een gimmick. Als Das Ich dan toch een circus is met Kramm als clown, dan is Stefan Ackermann de tovenaar met de stem.

Binnenkort kun je op onze pagina’s de foto’s van Xavier bewonderen.

Didier BECU
27/12/2015


Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything