tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms

DARKHER

Realms

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark FolkDark Wave

[95/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two years after her brilliant EP The Kingdom Field Jayn H. Clear Mountain alias Darkher releases a full album. We liked the good EP at the time for its angelic, mysterious and dark atmosphere. We were wondering which direction she chooses for this album.

She starts with a dark ambient, a drone track that slowly builds up the tension and floats into the second song Hollow Veil. Hollow Veil sounds ominous and you find yourself in a world of ghosts and other strange creatures. In addition, we hear the vocals that are very pure and hide a certain desperation. On Moths she leaves the tension and the threat and comes up with a rather dreamy song. Do not expect happy scenes or colorful butterflies, but this song is rather relaxing and lethargic. You hear a more typical dark wave / folk song. Wars begins with dark and deep sounding strings. Pounding drums and a thin voice do the rest. Buried Part1 is a kind of prequel which is continued on the sinister Buried Part 2. Strong. Lament ends this album in style.

With Realms Darkher follows the path of The Kingdom Field. We notice a contrast between dreamy and obscure songs which makes the album not too heavy and nicely balanced. A release of a high level, in her own style. The artwork features mysterious and mystical images. Beautiful. Realms is as good The Kingdom Field. Doing better will be difficult.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Twee jaar na de schitterende ep The Kingdom Field is Jayn H. Wissenberg alias Darkher er met haar debuut. We vonden de ep indertijd engelachtig, geheimzinnig en donker. En ook heel goed. Benieuwd welke richting ze op dit album uitgaat.

Ze start met een donkere ambient, een drone track die langzaam de spanning opbouwt en overgaat in het tweede nummer Hollow Veil. Hollow Veil klinkt onheilspellend en je waant je in een wereld van geesten en andere vreemde toestanden. Daarbovenop krijgen we de vocals die heel zuiver en toch een zekere wanhoop verbergen. Een eerste sterk moment. Op Moths verlaat ze de spanning en de dreiging voor een dromerige en eerder zweverige song. Verwacht je niet aan zonnige taferelen of kleurrijke vlinders, toch is deze song eerder ontspannend en gezapig. Je hoort hier een meer typische dark wave/folk song. Wars begint met donkere en diep klinkende strijkers. Pompende drums en een dunne zang doen de rest. Buried Part1 is terug een soort lang uitgesponnen prequel dat zijn vervolg krijgt op het sinistere Buried Part 2. Sterk. Lament sluit een negenkoppig tellend album af in stijl.

Met Realms volgt Darkher verder het pad dat ze op The Kingdom Field bewandelde. We krijgen op het album terug een contrast tussen dromerige en duistere songs. Dat maakt het album niet te zwaar om te beluisteren, maar zeker ook niet te lichtvoetig. Het is mooi in balans. Terug van een hoog niveau, in haar eigen stijl en ietsje subtieler gemixt. Ook het artwork is voorzien van geheimzinnige en mystieke foto’s. Mooi. Realms mag naast The Kingdom Field staan. Beter doen zal moeilijk worden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms 11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms

 

Next reviews
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut

 

Other reviews from DARKHER
DARKHER • The Kingdom Field

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death

 

Same genre: DARK FOLK
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My