tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/12/2015 : DAVID CARRETTA - Two Decades: A Retrospective

DAVID CARRETTA

Two Decades: A Retrospective

MusicCD
DanceElectroElectronics

[84/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
13/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Besides superb dark wave, the French label Unknown Pleasure Records also offers dance stuff of the better kind. Founder Pedro always was keen on the electro clash genre and it was kind of written in the stars that one day he would release a compilation by David Carretta. This artist, who started his career in Marseille in the 80s, is not only one of the many techno pioneers, he's also a bit the godfather of electro clash. As the title suggests, Two Decades: A Retrospective is a compilation that offers a nice overview of 20 years David Carretta: an artist who was influenced by both the disco gods (Giorgio Moroder) and EBM monsters (Front 242).

This CD contains fifteen songs, and although they are all meant for the dance floor, they sound very diverse. Goodbye Honeymoon is an ideal opener, a quiet track that could have been on a Klaus Schulze or Tangerine Dream album. Do not worry if you want some uplifting beats, because you get them in Cosmos 70. The strange effects make you dance. Even your living room can serve as a dance floor. Station To Station is not a Bowie cover, but just like Kraftwerk, Carretta brings you the same beats from one station to another. Escape From You sound a little darker and it shows where contemporary artists like Popsimonova take their inspiration from.

Perhaps it’s the title, but in Moskow Reise you discover some Neue Deutsche Welle and it seems like Carretta is playing a game with Codo by DOF. Of course Carretta also made a lot of songs that are solely intended for the dance floor, for example Extreme Body (that title alone!), a (delicious) assault on your eardrums, though he goes much faster in Machine Invasion!

Two Decades: A Retrospective is an ideal compilation of (or even for some an introduction to) a versatile artist who left his mark on all fronts of the music scene!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


NL

Het Franse Unknown Pleasure Records biedt naast een flinke dosis darkwave, ook heel wat beter danswerk. Oprichter Pedro heeft een grote voorliefde voor het elektroclashgenre en het stond dan ook bijna in de sterren geschreven dat ooit hij een compilatie van David Carretta zou uitbrengen. Deze artiest, die in de jaren 80 in Marseille begon, is niet alleen één van de vele technopioniers, hij is ook een beetje de peetvader van de elektroclash. Deze verzameling biedt een overzicht van zijn twintigjarige carrière. Zoals de titel laat vermoeden is Two Decades: A Retrospective een compilatie die een mooi overzicht biedt van 20 jaar David Carretta, een artiest die zowel werd beïnvloed door de discogoden (Giorgio Moroder) als EBM-kanjers (Front 242).

Op deze cd staan vijftien nummers en alhoewel ze allemaal voor de dansvloer bedoeld zijn, klinken ze zeer divers. Goodbye Honeymoon is een ideale opener, een rustige track die evengoed op een Klaus Schulze of een Tangerine Dream-plaat kon staan. Geen nood echter als je de nodige beats wil, want die krijg je meteen daarna op Cosmos 70. De vreemde effecten doen je dansen. Zelfs je huiskamer kan dienst doen als dansvloer. Station To Station is geen Bowie-cover, maar net zoals Kraftwerk brengt Carretta je met dezelfde beats van het ene station naar het andere. Escape From You klinkt wat donkerder en legt meteen bloot waar hedendaagse artiesten zoals Popsimonova door zijn beïnvloed.

Misschien is het titel, maar in Moskow Reise hoor je wat Neue Deutsche Welle en lijkt het wel alsof Carretta een spelletje speelt met Codo van DOF. Natuurlijk heeft Carretta ook heel wat nummers gemaakt die louter voor de dansvloer zijn bestemd, zo is Extreme Body (de titel alleen al!) een (heerlijke) aanval op je trommelvliezen, alhoewel hij in Machine Invasion nog een versnelling hoger gaat!

Two Decades: A Retrospective is een ideale compilatie van (of wellicht voor sommigen een kennismaking met) een veelzijdig artiest, die op allerlei fronten zijn stempel op de muziekscène heeft gedrukt!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


 

Next reviews
LUDOVIK MATERIAL • Model Generation
MAIA VIDAL • The Tide
MARC-ANDRE HAMELIN • John Cage/Karlheinz Stockhausen (Antwerpen, deSingel, 10/12/2015)
FISH • London,Islington Assembly Hall (05/12/15)
PETER BELLAERT (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PHANTOM CRUX • Synesthesia
GOLDEN EARRING • Five Zero (Antwerpen, De Roma, 09/12/2015)
ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ABRAXAS • Totem
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I

 

Same genre: DANCE
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears