tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl

DAVID FINCHER

Gone Girl

Movie
Thriller
20th Century Fox
15/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In a recent interview the controversial author Bret Easton Ellis told that he’s convinced that one day film will disappear and that there will be no directors around. A frightening statement that might be true, but as long as there are cinematographers around like David Fincher I guess we’re in a safe zone. The maker from Se7en, Fight Club, Zodiac, The Social Network, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and House Of Cards has come up with another blast: Gone Girl. Some critics already claimed this old fashioned classy thriller is the best film of the year, some even think that this Gillian Flynn-adaption will be the Oscar-beast from 2015.

Great words, but is Gone Girl that good? Absolutely yes, even if Fincher made a genius copycat from 80’s-classics like Basic Instinct or Fatal Attraction. The movie has some great performances. Ben Affleck is born to play the guy with the fake smile you don’t trust and Rosamund Pike is definitely THE discovery.

The bar owner Nick Dunne (Ben Affleck) and writer Amy (Rosamund Pike) have a happy married life, but that’s a false image as the two hate each other. One day Nicky comes home and finds out that his wife is kidnapped. He doesn’t burst out in tears, he’s even relieved. The media discover this too and in no time he’s condemned as the guilty.

Gone Girl is a thriller full of suspense, but there’s more. Fincher criticizes the media and its power. Just like in his other movies, Fincher is the master in fooling the audience: what you see is not what happens! Added with a genius soundtrack by Trent Reznor and you know that this is the Hollywood must see from 2014.

In the top 10? Might be!

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


NL

In een recent interview merkte de controversiële auteur Bret Easton Ellis cynisch op dat er een weldra een tijd zal aanbreken waarin er van regisseurs of films geen sprake meer zal zijn. Wie zijn wij om de auteur van American Psycho tegen te spreken, maar toch zijn we er rotsvast van overtuigd dat dit niet zal gebeuren zolang er cineasten zoals David Fincher rondlopen. Se7en, Fight Club, Zodiac, The Social Network, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo of in de seriewereld met House Of Cards: het zijn maar enkele voorbeelden uit de rijk gevulde filmografie van de man uit Denver. Je kan daar nu ook Gone Girl aan toevoegen: een ouderwetse thriller die volgens sommige recensenten het beste is van wat je dit jaar in het Hollywood-aanbod kan vinden, er wordt zelfs al volop gespeculeerd dat deze Gillian Flynn-verfilming garant zal staan voor een massa Oscar-beeldjes.

En is Gone Girl nu echt zo goed? Jawel, ofschoon Fincher niet meer doet dan de thriller uit de jaren 80 (Basic Instinct, Fatal Attraction) heropvissen, maar mede door de briljante vertolkingen (Ben Affleck als domoor is altijd een goede zet en Rosamund Pike is DE ontdekking!) alsook de onverwachte plots wordt Gone Girl een ijzingwekkende thriller die je twee en een half uur aan het puntje van je stoel kluistert.

De bareigenaar Nick Dunne (Ben Affleck) en schrijfster Amy (Rosamund Pike) leiden op het eerste gezicht een leventje waar ieder mens van droomt, maar dat is niet meer dan schijn. Op een dag komt Nick thuis en merkt dat zijn vrouw is ontvoerd. Het mag wel niet, maar eigenlijk is hij opgelucht dat hij van de bitch verlost is. Dat heeft ook de media gezien en in geen tijd wordt hij als de schuldige aan het kruis genageld.

Gone Girl is niet alleen een spannende thriller, Fincher hekelt ook de media die zelf maar al te graag rechtertje speelt. De cineast is een meester om de kijker steeds op het verkeerde been te zetten en het blijft verdomd moeilijk om partij te kiezen! Tel daar nog eens de verbluffende score van Trent Reznor bovenop en je weet dat de critici het bij het juiste eind hebben: verplichte Hollywoodkost!

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret