tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight

DAYLIGHT

One More Fight

MusicCD
PopPunk

[70/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Pop punk... it sounds like a contraditio in terminus. But since Green Day, Five Seconds of Summer and the Belgian Janez Detd, we know what this band from Barcelona has to offer: pop melodies played as polished punk songs.

You can like it or hate it, but Daylight does it in a good way. It sounds catchy and sunny. The theme of the texts has nothing to do with punk and is rather superficial. The text of the opener Anthem for the Broken is as implausible as a terrorist at a peace convention. But if you’re just talking about the music, then we must say that they manage to create some catchy tunes, although some sound very familiar.

Daylight creates easily pop tunes that once were the soundtrack of a generation. I'm not sure whether that is still the case. Nowadays, youngsters listen to Bastille, Dotan or Oscar and the Wolf. But those who like the genre, will be satisfied with One More Fight. It is a decent album, but it never steps outside the lines of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Poppunk…het klinkt als een contraditio in terminus. Sinds Green Day, Five Seconds of Summer en het Belgische Janez Detd weten we waar deze band uit Barcelona voor staat: popmelodietjes die verpakt zijn als gepolijste punksongs.

Je kan voor of tegen zijn, maar Daylight brengt het wel op een goede manier. Het klinkt aanstekelijk en zonnig. De thematiek van de teksten heeft niets met punk te maken en is eerder oppervlakkig. De tekst van opener Anthem for the Broken is even ongeloofwaardig als een terrorist op een vredesconventie. Als je het album puur vanuit muzikaal standpunt bekijkt, dan is men erin geslaagd om catchy deuntjes te maken, waarvan sommige weliswaar heel herkenbaar klinken.

Daylight maakt licht verteerbare popdeuntjes die vroeger een hele generatie tieners aanspraken. Ik weet niet of dat nu ook nog het geval is. Tegenwoordig luistert de jeugd meer naar bands zoals Bastille, Dotan of Oscar And The Wolf. Maar wie graag dit genre hoort, zal met dit album wel tevreden zijn. Het is een degelijke plaat, maar ze kleurt volledig binnen de lijntjes van het genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight 08/12/2016 : DAYLIGHT - One More Fight

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
06
Soft Cell's Tainted Love re-released by Cleopatra Records!
12
06
CARBON MARTYR Addresses Mankind & Technology With Debut Album
11
06
Darkwave Duo Band HANGING FREUD Speaks Of Loss And Transformation with 'Persona Normal'
11
06
30 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
10
06
30 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 43 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
11
06
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
11
06
PATIENCE
The Church (Night School, 2016)
10
06
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
09
06
FAUNA TWIN
Water On Mars
08
06
PERSEPHONE
Downfall
07
06
CREMATORY
Ravens Calling