tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

20/01/2019 : DEAD HIGH WIRE - Pray for us

DEAD HIGH WIRE

Pray for us

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
GaragerockPost Punk

[84/100]   

Wool-E Discs
20/01/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Imagine that you lock three passionate musicians in a humid cellar. And that you provide them with only drinks, whether fermented or spirituous or not. And that you're so excited that you also start to feed them. And imagine that a masterpiece is in the making. And that after a few weeks you hold an album in your hands...like that... Well Dead High Wire provides such a piece. I don't know how it came so nicely in its roughness. I don't know either how it took this sublime shape. But what I know for sure is that postpunk in Belgium is far from being dead. And that Dead High Wire released a wonderful debut with Pray For Us.

They breathe in postpunk of a higher standard. The beauty for me lies in the fact that it sounds completely unpolished, raw, honest and varied.

Part Of It offers variation between great postpunk with some shoegaze elements and garagerock. At some moments Joy Division seems resurrected, like in Pray For Us that starts with that good typical bass line. With Laurel Canyon a pogo might suddenly explode. We'll put our dark clothes on to disappear in the mist and disconnect from the world for a good 6 minutes.

Parallel World is so heavenly melancholic that you'll keep that feeling for a week. Postpunk of the golden days. As if there will never be again. Hell yeah they just got resurrected! Talk To Strangers is also a song that has some pogo feelings. Punchy, with sharp guitars and killer bass parts.

Sedates Dreams will make you swing in a rollecoaster of postpunk with garagerock fragments. A subdued song.

You have different kinds of debut albums. This is one of the kind you need to have at home. Why? Because it is varied, straight and sticks to the ear. Because there's a talent here to bring exquisite beauty. Because it sounds intense and sincere and it probably is. Pray For Us... so that we can enjoy it for a long time. It is a direct hit all along the line. Dead High Wire, thank you for this great 9-tracks debut.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/01/2019


NL

Stel dat je drie geëngageerde en gedreven muzikanten zou opsluiten in een vochtige kelder. En dat je die voorziet van enkele dranken, al dan niet gegist of gedistilleerd. En dat je zo joviaal bent om hen ook te voederen. En stel dat daar een meesterwerk in wording zou zijn. En dat ze na enkele weken ongegeneerd musiceren een album in je handen zouden duwen.. zomaar... Wel deze Dead High Wire levert zo'n werk. Hoe het zo mooi is kunnen worden in zijn ruwheid, weet ik niet. Waar het deze sublieme vorm kreeg weet ik ook niet. Wat ik wel weet is dat postpunk in België verre van dood is. En dat deze Dead High Wire een geweldig debuut te pakken heeft met Pray For Us.

Ze ademen postpunk van de superiore soort. De schoonheid voor mij bestaat erin dat het allemaal ongepolijst, ruw, eerlijk, rauw en afwisslend klinkt. Niet een zoveelste plaat die door gekunsteldheid wel klinkt, maar niet vol. Deze klinkt meer dan vol. Het ongekunstelde maakt deze schijf tot één van wereldformaat.

De afwisseling tussen geweldige postpunk met een aantal shoagaze-passages, en met garagerock om u tegen te zeggen (Part Of It).Joy Division lijkt in bepaalde passages te herleven. Pray For Us trekt zich op gang met een baslijn die bij voornoemde heel goed te ontwaren is. Om dan die ruwe parels van de gitaar eromheen te winden. Met Laurel Canyon kunnen we een pogo los laten barsten. En dan hullen we ons in donkere gewaden om in de nevel te verdwijnen en ruim 6 minuten van de wereld te verdwijnen in onze eigen dansstonde.

Parallel World is zo hemels melancholisch dat je er week van wordt, ondanks het feit dat de song op zich vrij stevig om zich heen slaat met momenten. Postpunk van de hoogdagen. Alsof die er niet meer zouden zijn. Hell yeah ze zijn net herrezen. Talk To Strangers is nog zo een song met pogo-gehalte. Snedig, met snerpende gitaren, en een moordende baspartij.

Sedates Dreams doet je heupwiegend uitgeleide uit een rollercoaster van postpunk en flarden garagerock. Een ingetogen song.

Je hebt debuutalbums in soorten. Dit is er één van de soort die je in huis moet halen. Waarom? Omdat het gevarieerd, straight on en oerrobuust is. Omdat het een ruwe bolster is die daaruit net zijn uitmuntende schoonheid puurt. Omdat het intens en oprecht klinkt en wellicht ook is. Pray For Us... opdat we er lang van zouden kunnen genieten. Dit is een voltreffer over de gehele lijn. Dead High Wire, u weze bedankt voor dit 9 nummers lange topdebuut.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/01/2019


20/01/2019 : DEAD HIGH WIRE - Pray for us 20/01/2019 : DEAD HIGH WIRE - Pray for us

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back