tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

DEAD

TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

MusicCassette
Cold WaveDark WaveElectro WaveShoegaze

[85/100]   

KDBRECORDS
18/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

DEAD is a French trio from Rennes and uses guitar, vocals, keys and drumcomputer. They make atmospheric music that sometimes goes a little in the direction of shoegaze and noise. But it all remains pretty listenable.

It’s the tension between electro and landscapes of guitar sounds. So they build their own universum that sounds dark, cold and industrial.Asn a matter of a fact we get two EP’s here (‘Transmissions’ from 2013 and ‘Verse’ from 2014), available on tape and download. On the last EP we hear more electro than on the first. My favourite tracks are ‘No Place For Us’ and ‘My Friend’. I like the mix between electro and guitars, with the sinister and cold sounding vocals. It gives the songs some cold/dark wave feel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/08/2015


NL

DEAD is een Frans trio uit Rennes dat gebruik maakt van gitaar, zang, keyboard en drumcomputer. Ze maken sfeerrijke muziek die bij momenten wat naar shoegaze en noise neigt, maar altijd vrij beluisterbaar blijft op het spanningsveld tussen elektro- en gitaarlandschappen. Zo bouwen ze een eigen universum op dat donker, koud en industrieel klinkt.

In feite gaat het hier om 2 EP’s. Verkrijgbaar op cassette en download. Eentje uit 2013 en eentje uit 2014, die nu samenopnieuw verkrijgbaar zijn. Op de laatste EP (Verse) krijgt de elektro de bovenhand. Mijn favorieten zijn ‘No Place For Us’ en ‘My Friend’. De band brengt een mooie mix tussen elektro en gitaar en samen met de donkere onheilspellende ‘zang’ krijgen we hier mooie stukjes muziek die neigen naar cold/dark wave en aanverwanten.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP) 18/08/2015 : DEAD - TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)

 

Next reviews
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
DAVID CRONENBERG • Maps To The Stars
CESAR CANALI (VOLKOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
KAMMARHEIT • The Nest
GLENN FICARA & JOHN REQUA • Focus
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Front Line Presents Reggae Discomixes
STEFAN BENS (STIN SCATZOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
STILES WHITE • Ouija

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything