tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

17/02/2021 : DEAR DEER / EMBERS - Split

DEAR DEER / EMBERS

Split

MusicVinyl / Digital
ElectronicsExperimentalNeofolkNo Wave

[74/100]   

Wool-E Discs
17/02/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Dear Deer and Embers clung on to each other in order to release this split-LP released by Wool-E-Discs. Only 200 hand-numbered copies have found the way to their proud owners, but you can still score it digitally.

We know Dear Deer as the merging result of Federico Lovino (Popoi sdioh) + Sabatel (Cheshire Cat) were they usually bring a combination of noise, no wave and post punk to us. But you never know for sure where things will go. Dear Deer is responsible for 4 songs on this Split album. And they're simply said all good… JRR is a bit of a pop-rocky track but not really excelling.Cosmopolitan is more of the same kind. Nervous, sounds yet a bit more unrefined, which is actually a surplus in this case. But still the song misses a bit of the elements that it needs to stick in your mind. But again, all in all, still a decent song. As is the next one, although Luminaries is lot more catchy. Minimalistic in terms of structure, with some shoegaze-post-punk-like rhythms towards the end and a groovy vibe. But we need an explosion… And luckily Life In Rewind gives us just that. A song that's more captivating than its proceeders, sounding quite ingenious and with electrifying noisy passages.

Embers, which is rooted in West Flanders, Belgium, is responsible for the 4 others songs. Misters Nolf and Desmadrijl are the companions in crime on this Split. We are wondering if they will manage to be more explosive and tensioned than their colleagues of Dear Deer, as we know that they sometimes can lash out strong. They also use their juicy West Flemish dialect. And yes! With Histi they immediately kick-off strong. Their experimental electro features smoldering pieces of neofolk and tribal-like fragments here and there. You can hear metal lids falling to the floor, electronic vibes, noise... Sounds one cannot always find a meaningful interpretation to. You can however, establish the fact that it keeps on surprising, every second. Bic is carved from the same wood. The songs seems to have some hypnotic power that is able to take you away from the here and now. Even though the juicy West Flemish accent even requires Flemish people to stay 100% focused to get the lyrics. Although one can ask themself if you should even try! Towards the end of the track it explodes in a flamenco tinted party, drenched in noisy electro. Who would come up with this! Then, Neo-folk backed by some electro: Wellness Kun grants it all to us. Just until the very noisy finale that resembles an endless death rattle … Of course we like this!

They conclude their contribution with a remix of a Dear Deer song called Claudine in Berlin. The originally postpunk sounding song gets a neofolk edge with a heavier bombastic sounds, also due to the added rhythms.

This Split-LP is a fun thing, but for me personally, Embers's contribution is more exciting and surprising than Dear Deer's more defined and contained contribution.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/02/2021


NL

Dear Deer en Embers klonken zich aan elkaar vast om de LP Split uit te brengen bij Wool-E-Discs. De 200 handgenummerde exemplaren hebben intussen een thuishaven gevonden. Digitaal kan je het wel nog scoren.

Dear Deer kennen we als het samengaan van Federico Lovino (Popoï sdioh) + Sabatel (Cheshire Cat). Ze brengen doorgaans een combinatie van noise, no wave en postpunk. En je weet nooit waar het op uitdraait. Ze nenem op deze Split 4 songs voor hun rekening. En die zijn goed zonder méér. JRR is wat poppy rockerig. Zonder echt uit te blinken. Cosmopolitan is van hetzelfde allooi. Nerveus, wat meer ongeraffineerd, wat in deze een kwaliteit is. In de song heb je geen uitschieters die je het gevoel geven dat hij zal blijven hangen. Het is al bij al nogal braafjes. En dat blijft het ook, hoewel een stuk aanstekelijker met Luminaries. Qua opbouw minimalistisch, met naar het einde toe wat shoegaze-postpunkachtige ritmes en toch ook wat aanstekelijke vibe. En dat het tijd werd dat het eens ontplofte… en dat doet het ook met Life In Rewind. Een song die meer weet te boeien dan de vorige songs, die bovendien vrij ingenieus klinkt en electrificerende noisy passages heetf.

Ook het Belgische Embers, dat West-Vlaamse roots heeft, neemt 4 songs voor hun rekening. De heren Nolf en Desmadrijl zijn de tochtgenoten op deze Split. Benieuwd of ze explosiever en met meer spanning uit de hoek zullen komen dan hun vrienden van Dear Deer. En we weten intussen dat ze stevig kunnen uithalen. Zegenruiken dan ook hun sappige Westvlaamse dialect. En jawel: in Histl trekken ze meteen van leer: experimentele electro met hier en daar een smeulend stukje neofolk en tribal-achtige flarden. Je hoort deksels op de grond vallen, electronische vibes, noise. Daar kan je geen zinnige duiding bij geven. Vaststellen dat het elke seconde even verrassend is en blijft, dat kan je wel. Bic komt uit dezelfde kleigrond. Het heeft iets hypnotisch en haalt je weg uit het hier en nu. Ook al zorgt het sappige West-Vlaams ervoor dat je af en toe even moet focussen om alles ‘mee te hebben’. Al kan je je de vraag stellen of dat moet! Naar het einde toe ontploft het helemaal in een flamenco getint feestje, gedrenkt in noisy electro. Je moet er maar op komen.
Neofolk geruggesteund door wat electro: Wellness Kun gunt het ons allemaal. Tot een heel lawaaierige finale die lijkt op een eindeloze doodsreutel. En of we daar van houden!
Ze sluiten af met een remix van een nummer van Dear Deer: Claudine in Berlin. De in oorsprong postpunks-song krijgt een neofolk-randje en klinkt zwaarder en bombastischer door de toegevoegde ritmesectie.

Deze Split is een leuk ding. Voor mij persoonlijk is de bijdrage van Embers veel spannender en verrassender dan de wat meer afgelijnde, bravere bijdrage van Dear Deer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/02/2021


17/02/2021 : DEAR DEER / EMBERS - Split 17/02/2021 : DEAR DEER / EMBERS - Split 17/02/2021 : DEAR DEER / EMBERS - Split

 

Next reviews
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DISTANT VOICES • Long Road to Home
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand

 

Same genre: NO WAVE
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
MCHNRY • The Shape
ONMENS • Misdracht

Music reviews

06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight