tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy

DENIS VILLENEUVE

Enemy

Movie


[80/100]   

Filmfreaks
10/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Those who fancy a strange, surreal film should try Enemy by Canadian director Denis Villeneuve. Be comforted with the thought that no one probably knows what exactly happens, but that is the case with all movies that pretend to be influenced by David Lynch. It is more than namedropping, because Villeneuve gives Isabella Rossellini (the star of Blue Velvet) a guest role at the end of the film. And then there is of course the influence of David Cronenberg and Stanley Kubrick (the opening scene seems almost a little too much like Eyes Wide Shut ).

Great examples not always result in great films, but those who saw Incendies and Prisoners know that there is a possibility when Villeneuve is involved. The scenario was written by Javier Gullón and based on the novel The Double by Nobel Prize winner José Saramago. It offers a possible answer to the question how someone would react if he knew that he has a doppelganger. It happens to the quite boring professor Adam Bell (Jake Gyllenhaal). On the advice of one of his colleagues, he rents a movie and see B - actor Daniel St. Claire, who looks exactly like him. Adam falls under the spell of his doppelganger, he tries to know everything about him, he stalks him and even penetrates into his life. Although the two are physically like a mirror, the professor is an introvert (almost reclusive) guy, while the actor is a rather arrogant and spoiled.

While Prisoners was an intriguing Hollywoodthriller, Enemy is a very quirky film that will not be appreciated by everyone, but it certainly is an uppercut for the brain. Obviously you won’t find anyone better than Jake Gyllenhaal to perform a weirdo (just think of Donnie Darko, Jarhead or recently Nightcrawler). Perhaps Enemy is not the film everyone is waiting for, but if you are a bit insane yourself, then you should definitely try it!

Didier BECU
10/02/2015


NL

Wie zin heeft in een vreemde, surrealistische film moet Enemy van de Canadese regisseur Denis Villeneuve een keer bekijken. Troost je met de gedachte dat wellicht geen mens weet wat er precies gebeurt, maar dat is nu eenmaal het geval met alle films die de pretentie hebben om in de buurt van David Lynch te komen. Het is meer dan zo maar wat namedropping, want Villeneuve laat op het einde van de film Isabella Rossellini (de ster uit Blue Velvet) in een gastrol opdraven. En dan is er natuurlijk ook nog de invloed van landgenoten David Cronenberg en Stanley Kubrick (de openingscène lijkt bijna op een net iets te doorzichtige ode aan Eyes Wide Shut).

Grote voorbeelden resulteren natuurlijk niet altijd in geslaagde films, maar wie eerder al Incendies en Prisoners zag, weet dat de kans daarop zeer groot is. Het scenario is geschreven door Javier Gullón en gebaseerd op de roman The Double van Nobelprijswinnaar José Saramago. Het biedt een mogelijk antwoord op de vraag hoe iemand zou reageren mocht hij weten dat er op de aarde een dubbelganger van hemzelf rondloopt. Het overkomt de saaie professor Adam Bell (Jake Gyllenhaal). Op aanraden van zijn collega’s huurt hij een film en komt tot de vaststelling dat de B-acteur Daniel St. Claire als twee druppels water op hem lijkt. Adam raakt in de ban van zijn dubbelganger, probeert alles over hem te weten te komen, stalkt hem en dringt vervolgens zijn leven binnen. Ofschoon de twee fysiek elkaars spiegelbeeld zijn, is de professor toch een introverte (bijna mensenschuwe) kerel, en stapt de acteur eerder op hoogmoedig wijze door het leven.

Terwijl Prisoners een intrigerende thriller met Hollywoodallures was, is Enemy een zeer eigenzinnige film die niet door iedereen zal worden geapprecieerd, maar een klap op je hersenen is het zeker. Uiteraard vind je niemand beter dan Jake Gyllenhaal als je een wereldvreemde snuiter in je film wil, een rol die hem op het lijf is geschreven (denk maar aan Donnie Darko, Jarhead of recent Nightcrawler). Wellicht is Enemy niet de film waarop iedereen zit te wachten, maar als je een paar hersenkronkels in de verkeerde richting hebt liggen, dan moet je hem beslist uitproberen!

Didier BECU
10/02/2015


10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour