tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior

DESIREE AKHAVAN

Appropriate Behavior

Movie

Homescreen
18/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you follow the arthouse genre, then you will definitely know that Desiree Akhavan is totally in. Her contemporary style is compared with both Woody Allen and Lena Dunham of Girls, and that means a lot, especially knowing that her debut film is a gay movie, a genre that rarely gets out of the circuit. Akhavan is not only the director, she also plays the lead role.

The first image we see is the one in which Shirin throws a dildo in the bin. The young woman has just broken up with her friend Maxine (Rebecca Henderson) and in the following 80 minutes, we know why. The nice thing about this gay film is that Desiree Akhavan uses the typical themes of the genre (doubts, the problems to be understood and to tell that to the outside world), but she does it differently than many others and that makes Appropriate Behavior a real refreshment. Say, La Vie D'Adele without the French charm, but with the genius touch of Noah Baumbach.

The characters in Appropriate Behavior are not broken. Shirin does not dare to tell her parents that she is keen on women, because in her homeland Iran you still can be stoned for being an lesbian, but for the rest, she is a happy, fashionable girl. She visits trendy shops, she goes to discos, she is a loudmouth andshe is happy with her job as a nanny. Only the relationship with Maxine has not proved successful. Is she the problem or Maxine? Shirin starts a psychological quest (which of course always ends in bed), and that means that the viewer is part of a handsome, modern, quirky and hyper cool character study.

Appropriate Behavior is different, a bit like the gay series Looking and therefore a tip!

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


NL

Indien je arthouse op de voet volgt, zal je beslist weten dat de regisseuse Desiree Akhavan helemaal in is. Haar eigentijdse stijl wordt zowel met Woody Allen als met Lena Dunham van Girls vergeleken, en dat is toch heel wat, zeker als je weet dat haar filmdebuut een holebifilm is, een genre dat jammer genoeg zelden buiten het circuit geraakt. Akhavan regisseert niet alleen, ze speelt ook de hoofdrol.

Het eerste beeld dat we zien is dat van Shirin, die een dildo in de vuilnisbak gooit. De jonge vrouw heeft het net uitgemaakt met haar vriendin Maxine (Rebecca Henderson) en in de 80 minuten die volgen weten we waarom. Het leuke aan deze holebifilm is dat Desiree Akhavan het wel over de typische onderwerpen van het genre heeft (twijfel, begrepen worden en het “anders zijn” aan de buitenwereld vertellen), maar ze doet er toch heel wat anders mee dan vele andere collega’s waardoor Appropriate Behaviour een verfrissing is. Zeg maar, La Vie D’Adèle zonder de Franse charme, maar wel met het venijn van Noah Baumbach.

De personages in Appropriate Behavior zijn niet gebroken. Shirin durft wel niet aan haar ouders vertellen dat ze op vrouwen valt, want in haar thuisland Iran kan je daar nog altijd voor gestenigd worden, voor de rest is ze een gelukkige, hippe meid. Ze bezoekt trendy winkels, gaat naar discotheken, is zeker niet op haar mondje gevallen, is gelukkig met haar job als kinderjuf, alleen loopt haar relatie met Maxine niet zoals het hoort. Ligt het aan haar of aan Maxine? Shirin start een psychologische zoektocht (die natuurlijk steeds in bed wordt uitgevoerd) en dat levert voor de kijker een knappe, moderne, eigenzinnige en hyperleuke karakterstudie op.

Appropriate Behavior is anders, een beetje zoals de homoreeks Looking en dat maakt het daarom zo’n aanrader. 

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth