tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : DESTRUCTION UNIT - Negative Feedback Resistor

DESTRUCTION UNIT

Negative Feedback Resistor

MusicCD
HardcoreNoisePsychedelicPunk

[65/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The quintet Destruction Unit from Arizona has been active since 2004 and already released several albums, and it's part of the so-called New American Underground Heavy.

You can expect an avalanche of psychedelic punk/noise that is terrorizing your eardrums. The vocals are hidden between the instruments, the distortion and the noise. The songs sound quite crammed, and it feels like there is no structure in most songs. Perhaps that is the intention, but it bothers me sometimes. Occasionally, I noticed something that feels like a nice starter for a song, like on Salvation that has a structure and a nice instrumental interlude. Animal Instinct also sounds nice, sultry and captivating. On If Death Ever Slept they almost sound hardcore.

For me, it feels like Destruction Unit is missing a musical direction on this release. Is it because of the new line-up? Who knows, nevertheless I found them better on Void or Desert Sun.

Negative Feedback Resistor remains a bit of a missed opportunity. Now available on CD and vinyl via Sacred Bones Records, or just as free download via Adult Swim.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Het vijftal van Destruction Unit uit Arizona is al sedert 2004 actief en brachten reeds verschillende albums uit, en behoort tot de New American Heavy Underground.

Verwacht je aan een lawine van psychedelische punk/noise die je trommelvliezen terroriseert. De zang zit vrij ver tussen de instrumenten, de galm, de distortion en de noise. De songs klinken nogal volgepropt en rommelig. Het is dus zoeken naar enige structuur in de songs. Misschien is dat de bedoeling, maar mij stoort het soms. Hier en daar merk ik wel een leuke aanzet voor een song, zoals bijv. Salvation, dat wel een duidelijke structuur en een aardig instrumentaal tussenstuk bevat. Op If Death Ever Slept klinken ze bijna hardcore, maar wel gevat en gebald. Ook Animal Instinct klinkt aardig, broeierig en meeslepend.

Voor de rest heb ik wel een beetje het gevoel dat Destruction Unit wat muzikale richting mist op deze release. Ligt het aan de nieuwe line-up? Wie zal het zeggen, desalniettemin vond ik ze toch beter klinken op Void of Desert Sun. 

Negative Feedback Resistor blijft wat een gemiste kans. Nu verkrijgbaar op cd en vinyl via Sacred Bones Records, of gewoon gratis te downloaden via Adult Swim.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner
NIMON • Fear of Change
DEHN SORA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil
DELETER • Seclusion
THE HAMSTERS • Salford 31-10-2015

 

Same genre: HARDCORE
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
GENERAL LEE • Knives Out Everybody!
LA HORDE • Dystopie
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
PRETTY HURTS • Expectations
FLESH WORLD • The Wild Animals in my Life

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

 

Same genre: PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour