tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die

DIEMONDS

Never Wanna Die

MusicCD
Hard RockMetal

[76/100]   

Napalm Records
15/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last month I got the album of Huntress. Shortly thereafter I received Diemonds and I immediately thought: I really hope that this rocks more, and yes, it is indeed better.

The title track Never Wanna Die sets the tone and exudes a rock 'n roll feel, something that can be said about the whole album. This is hard rock with some metal influences and a wonderful Joan Jett attitude. Priya Panda even sings a bit in the same way and so it sounds rather old school with some modern licks. The songs are rather short, something like three minutes. The album was produced by Eric Ratz, who previously did stuff for Billy Talent and Monster Truck.

These songs convince me: Never Wanna Die (which could be a perfect single), Secret, Wild At Heart and Meet Your Maker that has a very beautiful chorus. Do not expect an unforgettable album, but it sounds quite good. The lyrics are quite OK, just a pity of that insipid cover!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/09/2015


NL

Verleden maand kreeg ik het album van Huntress om te bespreken. Kort daarna kreeg ik Diemonds in mijn handen en meteen dacht ik: hopelijk rockt dit heel wat beter, en jawel, hoera, het is inderdaad beter.

De titel track Never Wanna Die zet meteen de toon en straalt een rock ’n roll gevoel uit, iets dat trouwens voor het hele album geldt. Dit is hardrock met wat metal invloeden en een heerlijke Joan Jett-attitude. Priya Panda zingt trouwens ook een beetje op dezelfde manier zoals zij, en dus klinkt het eerder old school met wat moderne licks. De nummers zijn eerder aan de korte kant: gemiddeld zo’n drie minuten. Het album is geproduceerd door Eric Ratz die eerder al Billy Talent en Monster Truck deed.

Deze nummers van de Canadezen konden mij overtuigen: Never Wanna Die (wat zo een single kon zijn), Secret, Wild At Heart en Meet Your Maker met een zeer mooi refrein.

Verwacht geen onvergetelijk album, maar toch klinkt dit goed. De teksten zijn best ok, alleen jammer van die smakeloze hoes!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/09/2015


15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die 15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)