tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die

DIEMONDS

Never Wanna Die

MusicCD
Hard RockMetal

[76/100]   

Napalm Records
15/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last month I got the album of Huntress. Shortly thereafter I received Diemonds and I immediately thought: I really hope that this rocks more, and yes, it is indeed better.

The title track Never Wanna Die sets the tone and exudes a rock 'n roll feel, something that can be said about the whole album. This is hard rock with some metal influences and a wonderful Joan Jett attitude. Priya Panda even sings a bit in the same way and so it sounds rather old school with some modern licks. The songs are rather short, something like three minutes. The album was produced by Eric Ratz, who previously did stuff for Billy Talent and Monster Truck.

These songs convince me: Never Wanna Die (which could be a perfect single), Secret, Wild At Heart and Meet Your Maker that has a very beautiful chorus. Do not expect an unforgettable album, but it sounds quite good. The lyrics are quite OK, just a pity of that insipid cover!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/09/2015


NL

Verleden maand kreeg ik het album van Huntress om te bespreken. Kort daarna kreeg ik Diemonds in mijn handen en meteen dacht ik: hopelijk rockt dit heel wat beter, en jawel, hoera, het is inderdaad beter.

De titel track Never Wanna Die zet meteen de toon en straalt een rock ’n roll gevoel uit, iets dat trouwens voor het hele album geldt. Dit is hardrock met wat metal invloeden en een heerlijke Joan Jett-attitude. Priya Panda zingt trouwens ook een beetje op dezelfde manier zoals zij, en dus klinkt het eerder old school met wat moderne licks. De nummers zijn eerder aan de korte kant: gemiddeld zo’n drie minuten. Het album is geproduceerd door Eric Ratz die eerder al Billy Talent en Monster Truck deed.

Deze nummers van de Canadezen konden mij overtuigen: Never Wanna Die (wat zo een single kon zijn), Secret, Wild At Heart en Meet Your Maker met een zeer mooi refrein.

Verwacht geen onvergetelijk album, maar toch klinkt dit goed. De teksten zijn best ok, alleen jammer van die smakeloze hoes!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/09/2015


15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die 15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything