tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

19/01/2019 : DIVE - Live Maschinenfest 2017

DIVE

Live Maschinenfest 2017

MusicCassette
EBMElectroIndustrial

[80/100]   
19/01/2019, Dimi BRANDS

EN

Next year Dark Entries will have its 25th anniversary. Looking back at those two and half decades we just can't ignore the figure of Dirk Ivens who seems inextricably linked to our magazine.

His solo project is not only almost 30 years old, we dedicated a whole chapter to him in the prestigious "Black Book" (aka De Dag Dat Het Zonlicht Niet Meer Scheen) and we also managed together with BodyBeats to have The Klinik perfomed on the stage of BIM Festival. And whether we talk about The Klinik, Absolute Body Control, Sonar or Dive, everyone in our editorial team is in fond of one or the other Dirk's project.

In memory of the Maschinenfest that held its last edition this year, Raubbau already released a few cassettes of some recorded performances there. After Sutcliffe Jügend, Orphx, The [Law-Rah] Collective, Contagious Orgasm and Feine Trinkers Bei Pinkels Daheim, Dirk Ivens may now add his contribution to this already great line-up with his solo project Dive.

In 2017, after a long absence, Dive released a new album, the great Underneath. This was the perfect timing to invite Ivens again to perform at Maschinenfest.

Not less than 7 out of the 10 songs from Underneath are included in the live recording, along with classics such as ‘Bloodmoney’, ‘Broken Meat’, ‘Dreamhunter’, ‘I Want You’, ‘Lies In Your Eyes’ and ‘Machinegun Baby’.

No matter how minimal the setting on stage may be: besides Ivens armed with a megaphone and minidisc, all the material he can use from his backcatalogue is fully efficient.

As with all other Dive releases, here's the same motto: play it loud!

Dimi BRANDS
19/01/2019


NL

Volgend jaar mag Dark Entries 25 kaarsjes uitblazen. Terugkijkend op die twee en een half decennia kunnen we niet om de figuur van Dirk Ivens heen die onlosmakelijk met ons magazine verbonden lijkt.

Niet alleen is zijn soloproject ook bijna 30 jaar oud en spendeerden we maar liefst een heel hoofdstuk in het prestigieuze “Black Book” (aka De Dag Dat Het Zonlicht Niet Meer Scheen) aan hem, tevens lukte het ons om samen met BodyBeats The Klinik op de planken van het BIM Festival te krijgen. En of het nu gaat om The Klinik, Absolute Body Control, Sonar of Dive, iedereen op onze redactie lust wel een of meerder projecten van Dirk.

Ter nagedachtenis van Maschinenfest dat dit jaar zijn laatste editie hield, bracht Raubbau al enkele cassettes uit met aldaar vastgelegde optredens. Na eerder Sutcliffe Jügend, Orphx, The [Law-Rah] Collective, Contagious Orgasm en Feine Trinkers Bei Pinkels Daheim mag Dirk Ivens met zijn soloproject Dive dit reeds fijn ogende rijtje aanvullen.

In 2017 verscheen na lange tijd nog eens een Dive-album, het prima Underneath. De perfecte gelegenheid dus om Ivens nog eens uit te nodigen op Maschinenfest.

Maar liefst 7 van de 10 songs van Underneath passeren de revue op deze live-opname, aangevuld met klassiekers ‘Bloodmoney’, ‘Broken Meat’, ‘Dreamhunter’, ‘I Want You’, ‘Lies In Your Eyes’ en ‘Machinegun Baby’.

Hoe minimaal de setting op het podium ook moge wezen (buiten Ivens gewapend met megafoon en minidisc valt er niets te bespeuren), de backcatalogue waaruit hij kan putten zit boordevol efficiënt materiaal.

Zoals voor elke Dive-release geldt ook hier het devies: afspelen op maximum volume!

Dimi BRANDS
19/01/2019


 

Next reviews
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST • B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN • EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Other reviews from DIVE
DIVE • Where do we go from here
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius

 

Same genre: EBM
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
AD:KEY • Resonanz
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real

Music reviews

05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!
01
05
Dark Ambient Act LONG THE NIGHT Reveals The Ominous & Melancholic Illusion
30
04
Dark Ambient Act IN THE ABSENCE OF WORDS Reveals Their Compilation, A Collection I

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight
30
04
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
God Is Dead
29
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated