tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DMX KREW - You Exist

DMX KREW

You Exist

MusicCD
DanceElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Techno
Hypercolour Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re aware of quality dance music, then you certainly will be familiar with DMX Krew, the alter ego of Briton Ed Upton, that has been around since the mid-90s.

The name is somewhat similar to that of a hip-hop group, but it simply refers to the drum machine Ed works with (the Oberheim DMX). Although many of his first albums were releases were released on Rephlex Records (the label of Aphex Twin), his music remains very accessible, it even sounds extremely poppy and it is often compared to Luke Vibert.

His latest CD is released on Hypercolour, the label that is founded by Alex Jones and Jamie "Cedric Maison" Russell, a duo that made remixes for bands like Groove Armada.

And what about this album? Well, even if you have never been in a disco, you can fall hopelessly in love with this album. Of course the dance beats rule, but DMX Krew made his minimal techno pop in an ingenious way.

You hear IDM elements, but also the electronics of say Jean Michel Jarre. The nine tracks are driven by melodic synths and icy electronic drums. Because of the style, You Exist will be labelled as techno, but those of you who prefer just pounding beats, will be disappointed. However, if you’re looking for synthetic beauty in an irresistible dance pop style, then you can start finding your way among the stars. Cosmic beauty, and a top CD!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wie van betere dansmuziek houdt, zal beslist vertrouwd zijn met DMX Krew. De Brit Ed Upton is er al sinds het midden van de jaren 90 mee bezig. De naam lijkt wat op die van een hiphopgroep, maar refereert gewoon naar de drumcomputer (de Oberheim DMX) waarmee Ed werkt. Ofschoon de meeste van zijn eerste releases op Rephlex Records (het label van Aphex Twin) zijn verschenen, blijft de muziek toch zeer toegankelijk, en zelfs uiterst poppy en ze wordt vaak vergeleken met die van Luke Vibert.

Zijn nieuwste cd is nu uitgebracht op Hypercolour, het label dat is opgericht door Alex Jones en Jamie "Cedric Maison" Russell, een duo dat heel wat naam maakte met remixes voor o.a. Groove Armada.

En hoe zit met het met deze cd? Wel, zelfs indien je nog nooit een voet in een discotheek hebt gezet, zou het best kunnen dat je hier hopeloos verliefd op wordt. Natuurlijk regeren de dansbeats, maar DMX Krew verpakt zijn minimale technopop op zo’n ingenieuze manier, dat je er werkelijk alle kanten mee uit kan.

Je hoort IDM-elementen, maar evenzeer de elektronica van bijv. Jean-Michel Jarre. De negen tracks worden gedreven door melodieuze synths en ijskoude elektronische drums. Wegens de stijl valt You Exist sowieso onder techno, maar wie louter beukende beats wil, zal maar weinig aan deze release hebben. Wie daarentegen synthetische schoonheid wil in onweerstaanbare danspopvorm, kan zich alvast een baan zoeken tussen de sterren. Kosmische schoonheid, en wat een topplaat!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016
SHE PAST AWAY • Black Easter 2016
ATTRITION • Black Easter 2016
IN THE NURSERY • Black Easter 2016

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything