tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP)

DOWNERS

Noose (EP)

MusicCD
GrungeRockShoegaze

[80/100]   

Local Colour Records
05/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The English band Downers was formed early 2015 with members of Me Vs Hero, MOU and Six Ten Repeater. The EP Noose is their second release in a short time and includes three compositions between punk, shoegaze and rock. Compared to the previous EP, the sound is tighter, with influences from 90's grunge. Partly as a result of their varied input, much is expected from Downers, and so we take the time to listen extensively to Noose.

Gaze starts with heavy guitars and sharp drumming, over which singer Bobby Pook (formerly Me Vs Hero) spreads his dreamy and melodious vocals: an attractive nostalgic trip on childhood memories that grabs you by the throat, floating on distorted and repetitive sounds, at times suddenly interrupted to enhance the effect. A beautiful and melodic rock song as a wink to Smashing Pumpkins.

Erased begins with quiet vocals and a subtle atmospheric guitar sound, but soon after the guitars build a wall of grunge sounds, making the track a lot bolder and more violent than its predecessor. The transition between the peaceful and the violent passages happens seemingly without problems and has a direct bearing on the text, because it is about a dream in which the main character evolves from visible to invisible. I Will not be erased!, Pook sings in his struggle against the inevitable. A very special track, structurally sturdy and surprisingly nicely played.

Grown Out is by far the strongest and loudest track on the EP, with an intensity reminiscent of Nirvana, with dreamy vocals and a shoegaze-like feel, later hardening, with screaming vocals that tend to metal: a solid rock song.

Only three songs on this EP, but still an impressive release, which fuses punk, shoegaze, grunge and rock to raw, energetic and at the same time touching compositions. Watch out for Drowners!

Track listing:
1. Graze
2. Erased
3. Grown Out

https://www.facebook.com/downersruleok
http://www.localcolourrecords.bigcartel.com/

William LIÉNARD
05/09/2015


NL

De Engelse band Downers werd begin 2015 opgericht met leden van Me Vs hero, MOU en Six Ten Repeater. De ep Noose is hun tweede release op korte tijd en bevat drie composities tussen punk, shoegaze en rock. In vergelijk met de eerdere ep is het geluid steviger, met invloeden uit 90s’ grunge. Mede als gevolg van hun gevarieerde input, wordt er veel verwacht van Downers en dus namen we de tijd om uitgebreid naar Noose te luisteren.

Gaze begint met stevige gitaren en fors drumwerk waarover zanger Bobby Pook (ex-Me Vs hero) z’n dromerige en welluidende vocalen legt: een aantrekkelijke nostalgische trip over jeugdherinneringen die naar de keel grijpt, drijvend op distorted en repetitief geluid, bij momenten plots onderbroken om het effect te versterken. Een prachtige en melodieuze rocksong als een knipoogje naar Smashing Pumpkins.

Erased begint met rustige vocalen en fijnzinnig atmosferische gitaargeluid, maar meteen trekken de gitaren een muur van grungegeluid op waardoor de track een stuk stouter en heftiger klinkt dan z’n voorganger. De overgang tussen de rustige en de heftige passages gebeurt schijnbaar probleemloos en houdt direct verband met de tekst, want daarin is sprake van een droom waarin de hoofpersoon van zichtbaar naar onzichtbaar evolueert. I Won’t be erased!, zingt Pook in z’n strijd tegen het onafwendbare. Een heel aparte track, maar stevig qua structuur en verrassend mooi gespeeld.

Grown Out is veruit de heftigste en luidste track op de ep, met een intensiteit die herinneringen oproept aan Nirvana, met dromerige vocalen en een shoegazeachtige feel, later verhardend, met schreeuwerige vocalen die eerder naar metal neigen: een stevige rocksong.

Maar drie songs en toch een indrukwekkende release waarin punk, shoegaze, grunge en rock samengesmolten worden tot rauwe, energieke en tegelijk ontroerende composities. Kijk uit voor drowners!

William LIÉNARD
05/09/2015


05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP) 05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP) 05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP)

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour