tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/11/2015 : DRACONIAN - Sovran

DRACONIAN

Sovran

MusicCD
Black MetalDoom MetalGothic

[92/100]   

Napalm Records
02/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Draconian had to arrange a few things after their last album A Rose For the Apocalypse from 2011. Lisa Johansson, who for years was the singer, left and so they had to find a worthy successor which was found with Heike Langhans. This quest took some time, and in the end it lasted four years before a new album could be released. Anders Jacobsson wanted Heike to be part of the creative process of the new album, she even wrote some lyrics herself.

The album is wrapped in a beautiful cover, made by the Romanian artist Costin Chioreanu who is known for designing album covers. The cover also has a meaning: the connection between man and the universe, the plants, the stars and everything that is above us.

The first song Heavy Lies the Crown immediately is a strong starter. A doomy bass line and a guitar riff open the intro; we hear a piano, the angelic voice of Heike, then the guitar riff of the intro again, along with the grunts of Anders: a fantastic piece of music.

Heike's vocals are fantastic and include a lot of emotion and melancholy. Tortured Pale Blue is rich in emotions and orchestration. Stellar Tombs and Dishearten are heavier. Stellar Tombs has some beautiful vocals and guitar melodies. On Dusk Mariner we discover some violins and you get an 80s feeling because of the effects on the vocals. Rivers Between Us has guest vocals by Daniel of Crippled Black Phoenix. Anders and Heike's voices contrast nicely, while Daniel and Heike provide beautiful harmonies.

All songs are well structured. It's an album that you can listen to for many times without getting bored and with a qualitative song structure and production. I thought Feel The Misery of My Dying Bride was going to be the top record of 2015 in this genre, but Draconian does better. This album will definitely end up high in my list of 2015.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/11/2015


NL

Draconian had wat op orde te stellen na zijn vorige album (A Rose For the Apocalypse uit 2011). Lisa Johansson, die jarenlang de zangeres was, vertrok en dus moest er gezocht worden naar een waardige opvolger en die vond men met Heike Langhans. Deze zoektocht vroeg wat tijd en uiteindelijk duurde het vier jaar vooraleer er een nieuw album kwam.

Anders Jacobsson schreef samen met Heike de zanglijnen en de teksten, hij wilde immers dat ze deel uitmaakte van het creatieproces van de nieuwe cd, sommige teksten zijn door haar alleen geschreven.

Het album is gehuld in een mooie cover die is gemaakt door de Roemeense kunstenaar Costin Chioreanu, bekend voor het ontwerpen van albumcovers. De hoes heeft ook een betekenis: de connectie tussen de mens en het universum, de planten, de sterren en alles boven ons.

De eerste song, Heavy Lies the Crown, leidt meteen het album sterk in. Een doomy baslijn en gitaarriff openen de intro; we horen wat piano, de engelachtige stem van Heike, waarna de gitaarriff uit de intro weer opduikt, samen met de grunts van Anders. In het refrein bloeit de track helemaal open. Een fantastisch stukje muziek.

De vocalen van Heike zijn fantastisch en bevatten veel emotie en melancholie. Pale Tortured Blue is rijk aan emoties en orkestratie. Stellar Tombs en Dishearten zijn wat zwaarder en hebben meer tempo dan de vorige songs. Stellar Tombs heeft een middenstuk met mooie zang- en gitaarmelodieën. Dishearten heeft ook een mooie bridge voordat de outro rock wordt. Op Dusk Mariner ontdekken we wat violen en je krijgt een 80s-gevoel door o.a. de effecten op de zang. Rivers Between Us heeft gastvocalen door Daniël van Crippled Black Phoenix. Met Anders en Heike krijgen we bij de stemmen een mooi contrast, terwijl Daniël en Heike een mooie samenzang verzorgen.

Alle nummers zijn goed opgebouwd. Het is een album dat je veel malen kan beluisteren zonder je te vervelen en met een kwalitatieve songopbouw en productie. Ik dacht dat Feel The Misery van My Dying Bride de topplaat uit dit genre voor 2015 zou zijn, maar ik zet dit album nog een trapje hoger op de ladder. Dit album komt zeker en vast dit jaar in mijn eindejaarslijstje terecht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/11/2015


02/11/2015 : DRACONIAN - Sovran 02/11/2015 : DRACONIAN - Sovran 02/11/2015 : DRACONIAN - Sovran

 

Next reviews
THE LOVELY INTANGIBLES • Tomorrow Is Never
GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR • Antwerpen, Trix (30/10/2015)
MASK • Body Burn
ELISA WAUT • Brugge, Stadsschouwburg (31/10/2015)
PAVLOV'S DOG • Leuven, Het Depot (30/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Another Manic Episode
HORSKH • Dawn (Extended Version)
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: BLACK METAL
KRALLICE • Mass Cathexis
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
DOMINANZ • Noxious
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
MIGHTIEST • Sinisterra
DALLA NEBBIA • Felix Culpa

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret