tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

DYSCORDIA

Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

Concert
progressive metal 09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Dyscordia released a new and good album. At De Kreun in Kortrijk, a release party was set up with Fields of Troy and Thurisaz as support acts.

Fields Of Troy opened the evening. This young band from Torhout did a perfect job and played some songs from the brand new EP Hardship (keep an eye on our pages). The band played a solid set. Especially 402 was strong.

Then it was time for Thurisaz. Last year the band released the brilliant The Pulse of Mourning. An energetic set was played, probably because of the limited playing time. So, no fragile or slowly accumulated songs of the latest album. In the beginning the band searched for the right sound, but when Switch To Red started, the venue was on fire!

Finally, it was time for the main act of the evening: Dyscordia, as always accompanied by lots of fans, but there were a lot of other people as well. The stage was decorated in a charming way with a canvas. Two songs from the new album Words In Ruin were played (Harlequin's Grief and Bail Me Out), but also well-known songs like From Sight To Black and In Solitude, interspersed with new tracks like Reveries (which is actually an older track), Masquerade, A Perfect Day and Chthonic Star.

There was also an acoustic moment (Sacred Soil of Souls). The drumming was sublime, played at a high level and he provided the engine of the band. Piet Overstijns was delighted and made a lot of contact with the public. Additionally, some T-shirts were thrown into the audience for free. We heard a beautiful and balanced set, followed by an encore. Dyscordia has grown and is ready for more. That is obvious.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Dyscordia heeft een nieuw en goed album uit. Om die release wat luister bij te zetten, was een optreden in De Kreun gepland met twee bands in het voorprogramma: Fields of Troy en Thurisaz. Een mooi programma tegen een heel democratische prijs.

Het was even zoeken om de auto kwijt te raken en De Kreun terug te vinden. Maar eenmaal aangekomen, was het duidelijk dat De Kreun volgelopen was voor dit concert.

Fields Of Troy mocht de avond openen. Deze jonge Torhoutse band kweet zich goed van zijn taak en stelde enkele songs van de gloednieuwe ep Hardship voor (waarover later meer in PAB). De band speelde een stevige set. Vooral 402 vond ik sterk.

Daarna was het tijd voor Thurisaz. Verleden jaar bracht deze band het schitterende The Pulse of Mourning uit. Hij koos in De Kreun voor een energieke set, wellicht wegens de beperkte speeltijd. Dus geen breekbare of langzaam opgebouwde nummers uit hun laatste album. Het was eerst wat zoeken naar het juiste geluid, maar vanaf Switch To Red kwam de zaal helemaal onder stoom. Een pittige set.

Ten slotte was het de beurt aan de hoofdact van de avond: Dyscordia, zoals steeds vergezelt van een horde fans, maar er was ook veel ander volk. Het podium was op een sfeervolle manier met canvas ingericht zodat o.a. de gear niet zichtbaar was. We hoorden twee songs uit het nieuw album Words In Ruin, met name Harlequin’s Grief en Bail Me Out, en bekende tracks zoals From Sight To Black en In Solitude, afgewisseld met nieuw werk zoals Reveries (dat eigenlijk een oudere track is), Masquerade, A Perfect Day en Chthonic Star. Een akoestische moment (Sacred Soil of Souls) passeerde ook de revue. Het drumwerk was subliem en fungeerde als de motor van de band. Er werd op hoog niveau gespeeld. Piet Overstijns was in zijn nopjes en maakte veel contact met het publiek. Daarnaast werden enkele T-shirts met gratis cd in het publiek geworpen. We hoorden een mooie en evenwichtige set, gevolgd door een encore. Dyscordia is volwassen geworden en klaar voor meer. Dat is duidelijk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo