tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EAGULLS - Ullages

EAGULLS

Ullages

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost Punk

[86/100]   

Partisan Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Probably, the British band Eagulls can’t bear the comparison any longer, but talking about these guys from Leeds, we almost automatically think of The Cure. George Mitchell can’t help it that his voice resembles Robert Smith's, nontheless the band uses many sounds (and styles) from The Cure.

Indeed, times change. Once you better kept your mouth shut when you thought the eighties was the most groundbreaking period in music, today it sounds hip to say so.

Eagulls will be the last band to refute it, how else would you explain the fact that these young guys covered the old hit Requiem by Killing Joke on their debut single? In England, the band is the hype of the moment: Steve Lamacq plays their records endlessly, and the band was the support act of Franz Ferdinand during the British tour.

Ullages (just a pun name of the band’s name) is the second album of Eagulls, one that does not sound as raw as the previous record. The band takes its inspiration from old wave records, but you never have the feeling that this is the work of a nostalgic eighties band.

The new album was produced by Matt Peel who has worked with The Crookes, while Craig Silvey took care of the mix (a guy who is linked with names like Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails).

Ullages is a very dark record. The voice sounds desperate and melancholic, with soaring guitars that sometimes explode.

Contemporary indie that finds its roots in classic wave: Hard Strings has those typical guitar patterns by Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde.

Ullages is perfect!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk kan de Britse band Eagulls de vergelijking al lang niet meer horen, maar wie het over deze jongens uit Leeds heeft, moet bijna automatisch de naam van The Cure vermelden. George Mitchell kan er natuurlijk ook niet aan doen dat zijn stem sprekend op die van Robert Smith lijkt, toch graait de band met plezier de geluiden (alsook de stijl) uit het grote Cure-boek. Inderdaad, tijden kunnen veranderen. Ooit hield je maar je beter je mond als je dacht dat de eighties de meest baanbrekende periode uit de muziek was, tegenwoordig klinkt zo’n stelling gewoon hip.

Eagulls zal de laatste band zijn om ons wat dat betreft tegen te spreken, hoe verklaar je anders dat jonge kerels op hun debuutsingle de oude kraker Requiem van Killing Joke coveren? De band is in Engeland al lang verheven tot de te volgen hype van het moment, Steve Lamacq draait hun platen stuk en de band was de support act van Franz Ferdinand tijdens de Britse toer.

Ullages (gewoon een woordspeling van de bandnaam) is de tweede plaat van Eagulls,eentje die niet zo rauw klinkt als de vorige. Eerder zoekt de band de sfeer van dromerige waveplaten van weleer op zonder dat je ook maar één moment het gevoel hebt dat dit het werk is van een nostalgisch eightiesbandje.

De nieuwe plaat i,s geproduceerd door Mat Peel die al heel wat werk van The Crookes voor zijn rekening nam, terwijl Craig Silvey voor de mix zorgde (een kerel die gelinkt wordt met namen als Depeche Mode en Nine Inch Nails).

Ullages is een zeer donkere plaat, de stem klinkt wanhopig en weemoedig, met zweverige gitaren die soms voor de nodige ontploffingen zorgen. Eigentijdse indie die met plezier de mosterd haalt bij klassieke waveplaten; zo bezit bijv. Hard Strings de typische gitaarpatronen van Robin Guthrie en Simon Raymonde.

Ullages is perfect en een sluitend bewijs dat er vandaag nog steengoede muziek wordt gemaakt. Gelukkig maar, welk nut zouden onze schrijfsels anders nog hebben?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (08/05/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune
LITTLE NEMO • Out Of The Blue
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn