tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

08/12/2016 : EAUX SAINES - Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape

EAUX SAINES

Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape

MusicCassette
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[83/100]   
08/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

In the dark music scene, France makes us think of cold wave, minimal and post-punk. Eaux Saines is a French one-man band by Colin Manierka, who blends all these styles on one album in a surprisingly good way.

The opening track Les Eaux Saines is a very sober track with many industrial influences such as distortion and beats that seem to be composed on oil barrels. Those industrial influences return in the second song as well, but they make room for the vocals that are more typical for the synth pop genre.

As the album progresses, the melodies are more structured and more synth sounds are added. Indeed, you think of the early days of Depeche Mode. On the fourth song, we enter the realm of genuine French new wave. It is clear that Colin loves the pioneers of this genre: Gary Numan, Bauhaus or Depeche Mode.

Every time you hear the influences, but they are reworked in such an innovative way that you are curious to hear what’s coming next. The nine tracks are so different that they never bore. I’m really looking forward to hear more material by Eaux Saines!

Ruben SAEY
08/12/2016


NL

Wie in het duistere wereldje Frankrijk zegt, denkt al gauw aan cold wave, minimal en post-punk. Eaux Saines is een Frans éénmansproject van Colin Manierka, die al deze verschillende stijlen op een verrassende goede wijze in één album samenvat.

De openingstrack Les Eaux Saines is een heel somber slepend nummer met veel industrial zoals distortion en beats die lijken alsof ze op olievaten zijn gecomponeerd. Die industrialinvloeden komen ook in het tweede lied aan bod, maar in mindere mate. Ze maken plaats voor de vocalen die meer in het synthpopgenre thuishoren.

Naarmate het album vordert, worden ook de melodieën meer gestructureerd en is meer ruimte voor de synths die je af en toe wat aan de begindagen van Depeche Mode doen denken.

In het vierde nummer komen we in de sfeer van onvervalste Franse new wave. Zo borduurt de zanger/componist steeds verder met nieuwe verrassende zijsprongen. Het is duidelijk dat hij een liefhebber van de pioniers uit deze genres is: Gary Numan, Bauhaus of Depeche Mode. Telkens hoor je wel enige gelijkenis, maar die wordt op zo’n vernieuwende manier gebracht dat je na elke song nieuwsgierig wordt naar het volgende. De negen tracks zijn zo verschillend dat ze nooit vervelen. Het doet me in elk geval uitkijken naar meer werk van Eaux Saines!

Ruben SAEY
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RANDOM HAND • Hit Reset
LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA • B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016
PAUL CARRACK • Soul Shadows
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
NEUGEBORENE NACHTMUSIK • Komme, was kommen mag
THE JUGGERNAUTS • The Juggernauts Are Coming
SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS • SVIIB
THEM CHEMICALS • Bxl
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace