tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker

ELM

Kampftrinker

MusicCD (EP)
EBM

[92/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It's almost a year since Swedish loner ELM started the old-school EBM revolution with his 'Edge' EP. Today sees the release of Kampftrinker, the second single from the album Hardline, a gem in the Electronic Body Music genre in 2016. In terms of sound, old-school, beats and angular straight EBM ELM can without a doubt be added to the list of bands like Nitzer Ebb, Pouppee Fabrikk and consorts.

Kampftrinker is an EBM classic that will make the black hords dance till their feet are on fire. In-your-face bass lines, stomping beats in cheerfull (duh!) sounding German. Peter Elm recorded three versions of the song: the Slacht-mix, a more groovy sounding rework with the Steiner-Parker-mix and a Hard Club Mix.

That last one is even fatter, more tight, more agressive and more danceable than all previous ones. The sound penetrates space, monotone and like a drill. Cool!

As an encore we receive an analoge version of Fighter: straight EBM without looking back and without any pity. Tight without mercy. With Blackout ELM treats us with a great last song. No damage-control can cope with this.

We already knew that ELM is good. This is a delicious EP with good remixes and with Blackout as a great encore. Old-school EBM of the sublime kind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/03/2017


NL

Het is bijna een jaar geleden dat de Zweedse eenling ELM de old-school EBM revolutie inluidde met zijn "Edge" EP. Vandaag komt Kampftrinker uit, de tweede single van het album Hardline dat een pareltje van het Electronic Body Music-genre was in 2016. ELM mag gerust worden toegevoegd aan het lijstje van bands als Nitzer Ebb, Pouppee Fabrikk en consorten. Qua sound, qua old-school, qua beats en hoekige, straight EBM.

Kampftrinker is een EBM-klassieker die het zwarte gepeupel zo aan het dansen krijgt dat de stoom van de hielen komt. In-your-face baslijnen, stampende beats in een vrolijk (duuuh!) klinkend Duits. Peter Elm heeft drie versies opgenomen van de song: de Slacht-mix, een meer groovy klinkende rework met de Steiner – Parker -mix en een Hard Club Mix.

Die laatste is nog vetter, strakker, hoekiger, agressiever en dansbaarder dan alle voorgaande. Monotoon baant de sound zich als een drilboor door de ruimte. Vet!

En we krijgen als "Zugabe" een analoge versie van de song Fighter: rechttoe-rechtaan EBM zonder omzien en zonder enige vorm van medelijden. Genadeloos strak. Als laatste song trakteert ELM ons nog op Blackout. Geen damage-control is hiertegen opgewassen.

ELM is goed, dat wisten we al. Dit is een lekkere EP, met goede remixes en een geweldige toegift met Blackout. Old-school EBM van de sublieme soort.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/03/2017


09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears