tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path

EPHYRA

Along The Path

MusicCD
Epic MetalMedievalMetal

[72/100]   

BAKERTEAM RECORDS
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

At end of 2015, Along The Path by the melodic death metal/epic folk metal band Ephyra was released. These Italians are around since 2005 and this is their second album. The singing is done by Nadia Casali, as well as by Franseco Braga for the growls and grunts.

A number of elements which are typical for Viking- and medieval metal are included: the violins, flutes and the sing-along choruses. What makes them different from the rest? Surely Nadia’s angelic voice, the decent songs and a good production and good arrangements. The listener is immersed in a medieval and dark atmosphere. There are some nice moments on this album: Flaming Tears, with a nice short intro and incisive guitar work. Riding in the Sun is even better. Human Chaos contains excellent vocals that are quite catchy, with guitar riffs that refer to Iron Maiden. Hope is an atmospheric and acoustic ballad. So, this album contains both heavy and some lighter stuff.

As a whole this album is not bad, but it has been done before. I miss some character and the songs are a tad too predictable. But fans of both Eluveitie and Ensiferum surely will love this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Eind 2015 verscheen Along The Path van de melodieuze deathmetal/epicfolkmetalband Ephyra. Deze Italianen zijn al sinds 2005 bezig en dit is hun tweede album. De zang wordt door Nadia Casali verzorgd, alsook door een mannenstem (Franseco Braga) die de growls en grunts voor zijn rekening neemt.

Een aantal facetten is typisch voor metal met medieval- en vikingelementen zoals het gebruik van violen, fluiten en meezingbare refreinen. Wat onderscheidt ze van de rest? De engelenzang van Nadia en het degelijke songwerk. Het is vooral de som van de delen die het album sterk maakt, een goede productie en arrangementen. Dat zorgt ervoor dat je wordt ondergedompeld in een middeleeuws en donker sfeertje. Dat levert een paar mooie momenten op: Flaming Tears bezit een mooie korte intro met snedig gitaarwerk. Riding in the Sun is zelfs nog beter. Human Chaos bevat mooie krachtige vocals en gitaarriffs die wat aan Iron Maiden refereren. Hope is een sfeerrijke akoestische ballade. Een album met zware songs en ter afwisseling ook wat lichter verteerbaar werk.

Als geheel is dit album niet onaardig, maar het steekt ook niet uit boven de massa. Ik mis wat eigenheid en de songs zijn op een voorspelbare manier ineengeknutseld, maar liefhebbers van Ensiferum en Eluveitie zullen hier ongetwijfeld wel plezier aan beleven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path 09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night