tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path

EPHYRA

Along The Path

MusicCD
Epic MetalMedievalMetal

[72/100]   

BAKERTEAM RECORDS
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

At end of 2015, Along The Path by the melodic death metal/epic folk metal band Ephyra was released. These Italians are around since 2005 and this is their second album. The singing is done by Nadia Casali, as well as by Franseco Braga for the growls and grunts.

A number of elements which are typical for Viking- and medieval metal are included: the violins, flutes and the sing-along choruses. What makes them different from the rest? Surely Nadia’s angelic voice, the decent songs and a good production and good arrangements. The listener is immersed in a medieval and dark atmosphere. There are some nice moments on this album: Flaming Tears, with a nice short intro and incisive guitar work. Riding in the Sun is even better. Human Chaos contains excellent vocals that are quite catchy, with guitar riffs that refer to Iron Maiden. Hope is an atmospheric and acoustic ballad. So, this album contains both heavy and some lighter stuff.

As a whole this album is not bad, but it has been done before. I miss some character and the songs are a tad too predictable. But fans of both Eluveitie and Ensiferum surely will love this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Eind 2015 verscheen Along The Path van de melodieuze deathmetal/epicfolkmetalband Ephyra. Deze Italianen zijn al sinds 2005 bezig en dit is hun tweede album. De zang wordt door Nadia Casali verzorgd, alsook door een mannenstem (Franseco Braga) die de growls en grunts voor zijn rekening neemt.

Een aantal facetten is typisch voor metal met medieval- en vikingelementen zoals het gebruik van violen, fluiten en meezingbare refreinen. Wat onderscheidt ze van de rest? De engelenzang van Nadia en het degelijke songwerk. Het is vooral de som van de delen die het album sterk maakt, een goede productie en arrangementen. Dat zorgt ervoor dat je wordt ondergedompeld in een middeleeuws en donker sfeertje. Dat levert een paar mooie momenten op: Flaming Tears bezit een mooie korte intro met snedig gitaarwerk. Riding in the Sun is zelfs nog beter. Human Chaos bevat mooie krachtige vocals en gitaarriffs die wat aan Iron Maiden refereren. Hope is een sfeerrijke akoestische ballade. Een album met zware songs en ter afwisseling ook wat lichter verteerbaar werk.

Als geheel is dit album niet onaardig, maar het steekt ook niet uit boven de massa. Ik mis wat eigenheid en de songs zijn op een voorspelbare manier ineengeknutseld, maar liefhebbers van Ensiferum en Eluveitie zullen hier ongetwijfeld wel plezier aan beleven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path 09/12/2016 : EPHYRA - Along The Path

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)