tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

ESBEN SVANE

live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

Concert
AcousticIndieSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   
01/12/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with Esben Svane is a nice Danish indie singersongwriter, a true bard with a fab voice that can enchant a crowd. I loved the EP (The Sudden Stop) and now I can say that he's on stage even better!

His gig in Brussels was in a cosy hotel with a lot of youngsters and actually with a few fans who already knew his songs. He is completelyalone, with just his guitar on a small stage and one spot behind his back. Back to basics after playing as a drummer in a Danish popband. As he stated in one of his songs, it wasn't his thing and went out from Kopenhagen to find his true self somewhere in the countryside to write songs, just armed with his guitar and magical voice.

During his set of one hour (with a short break in between to talk to the fans, autographing his ep...) he played two songs from other artists (Gone for good from The Shins & Chelsea Hotel from Leonard Cohen) and succeeded in making them his own pearls. One of the songs I didn't knew from the ep was Forest (a nice one about his mother who had a real bad disease, one that can kill and choose to write about it as if she was a forest). Recreation was a great song to end his first set, a bit more up-tempo and really well fuelled. This one will be the first song on his full cd!

My favorite ones from his ep The Sudden Stop, Anywhere In A Paper Boat (this was the final song of his regular set and great to end with), The World Below My Feet (actually a song about smoking weed at young age) and Girlfriends (this was the encore song) really come up great on stage!

I must say it wasn't always easy for Esben to perform as noise was coming up from the bar that was a bit disturbing, but he did what he could to overwin it and turned this evening into a real campfire moment, a magical night, with romance in the air, some heartbreaking moments...This bard knows his job and does it with all his heart! I hope to see him one day in The Botanique or at some other nice place!

Looking forward to get the full cd & see more of him!

Good job!

My review of the new ep:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/esben-svane-the-sudden-stop-ep/?viaadmin=1

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/12/2013


01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

 

Next reviews
PEOPLE OF NOTHING • A Break To Cry
DELAYKLINIKEN • Air
HONG SANGSOO • In another country
TAPAGE • Overgrown
SHATOO • Floodlight
TOBE HOOPER • Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2
ANABELLE'S GARDEN • Time's no measure 1987-1993
FADERHEAD • FH4
TOBIAS LINDHOLM • Kapringen
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Hera, Protector Of Teddybears Since 2012

 

Other reviews from ESBEN SVANE
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret