tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire

EVAN TRAMEL

Black Water Vampire

Movie
Horror

[52/100]   

Image Entertainment
04/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Do you also get the shivers when hearing the word mockumentary? You know, a documentary that is not a documentary. That's of course a genius thing as you can make very cheap movies in such a way. And with a little bit of luck, you can become very rich with it, just like it was the case with the makers of The Blair Witch Project. At least that was so... The clones were becoming worse and the public was fed up with them. In an interview producer Jesse Baget declared that he was surprised that no one has made a mockumentary about a vampire so far. And look he convinced Evan Tramel to shoot such a picture and after 15 days the job was done.


21 December is a very special date for Blackwater Creek in Fawnskin, Washington. Since 1972 every year someone got murdered. Everyone accuses Raymond Banks (Bill Oberst Jr.) of being the serial killer, but local resident Danielle (Danielle Lozeau) doesn't believe this, plus all the victims are bitten in the neck. Danielle tries everything to prevent an innocent man ends up on death row and therefore she mobilises her friends Andrea (Andrea Monier) and Rob (Robin Steffen) to investigate the case. They hire Anthony (Anthony Fanelli) who films everything and of course, as expected, there are some supernatural forces involved in here.

I guess every horror fan has to face the same problem: you'll find gems in the genre, but there's a lot of crap in the big heap. We're not going to tell you that this movie is a masterpiece as no one would believe this. The truth however is that Black Water Vampire is better than the rest. Not because of the CG-effects, as in all honesty they're rather silly. The positive thing about this movie is that the acting is decent and the script is interesting enough to keep our attention for 90 minutes going.


Black Water Vampire is now out on DVD on Image Entertainment.

Didier BECU
04/04/2014


NL

Bibbert u ook wanneer u het woord mockumentary hoort? Je weet wel, zo’n documentaire die eigenlijk geen documentaire is. Omdat je zo’n film met een eenvoudig toestel kan opnemen (de toerist die door het woud met zijn camera trekt) zijn deze producties spotgoedkoop. Mits wat geluk kun je er zelfs zoals de makers van The Blair Witch Project stinkend rijk mee worden. Ten minste dat was zo. De klonen werden immers alsmaar slechter waardoor het publiek hun buik vol had van deze gedrochten. In een interview verklaarde producent Jesse Baget dat hij verbaasd was over het feit dat er tot dusver nog geen mockumentary over een vampier was gemaakt. En kijk, hij gaf de opdracht door aan de debuterende regisseur Evan Tramel en na 15 dagen was de klus geklaard.


21 December is een zeer speciale dag voor Blackwater Creek in Fawnskin, Washington. Sinds 1972 wordt daar om de tien jaar een mens vermoord teruggevonden. De arme Raymond Banks (Bill Oberst Jr.) wordt van deze seriemoorden beschuldigd, maar daar gelooft Danielle (Danielle Lozeau) niets van. De slachtoffers hebben immers vreemde beten in de nek. Zij wil voorkomen dat een onschuldige man de doodstraf krijgt en vraagt daarom aan haar vrienden Andrea (Andrea Monier) en Rob (Robin Steffen) om het zaakje uit te pluizen. Ze huren Anthony (Anthony Fanelli) in die alles zal filmen, en jawel....er zijn bovennatuurlijke krachten in het spel.


Iedere griezelfanaat heeft hetzelfde lot: tussen de zeldzame parels zit er ongelooflijk veel rommel. We gaan niet beweren dat Black Water Vampire een meesterwerk is. Wie zou dat trouwens geloven? Wel is deze mockumentary beter dan zijn soortgenoten. Niet wegens de CG-effecten, want die zijn om het beleefd uit te drukken vrij onnozel. Wel wordt er in Black Water Vampire behoorlijk geacteerd en is het script voldoende spannend om de 90 minuten durende filmrit zonder verveling uit te zitten.


Geen verrassingen, maar al bij al een degelijke horrorfilm dus. Liefhebbers kunnen zich Black Water Vampire aanschaffen via het Britse Image Entertainment.

Didier BECU
04/04/2014


04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire 04/04/2014 : EVAN TRAMEL - Black Water Vampire

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn