tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

19/11/2015 : EVEREST MAGMA - Modern/Antique

EVEREST MAGMA

Modern/Antique

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsExperimentalNoise

[70/100]   

Boring Machines
19/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Everest Magma is the latest incarnation of the man behind Rella the Woodcutter. Meanwhile, he has said goodbye to the psych-rock of his earlier work and nowadays he is working with machines, tape recorders and pedals. The result is a bizarre collection of noise tracks in which field recordings are combined with electronics and pedals: a rarely heard cacophony of the most diverse sounds.

Nan Nan is a hectic assembly of bells and nervous electrical flashes, repetitive and noisy, but halfway the track is a lot quieter with the sound of what appear to be delirious (and probably singing) Buddhist priests between the creaking electrical noise: a strange and exotic noisescape, while Dres Dued Del begins with layered electro percussion, rumbling drums and the sound of a rattling machine, fast, mechanical and repetitive, to which xylophone-like percussion is added, a single dark drone and mantra-like voices in the background. Very special. In Cuarteo Sa we hear industrial drones in the background and manipulated vocals very front, again referring to oriental male voices, and then a loop of repetitive, fragmented and barely recognizable voices.

The B-side of the album starts quietly with drums and a loop of synth sounds to which noise is added, again repetitive and quietly rippling. We hear running water and the sound of birds, but it may all be of electronic origin. Until now, it’s the most peaceful track on the album (Oior Rade, Raiod Ode). Maigam Aleer is again a drum track to which all kinds of distorted sounds are added (synths, voices, electrical noise), repetitive mantra-like, while Cabie Unt Mei Py Comata ends the album in a fairly quiet way with good sounding flares of electro, sucking and distorted synths, flute-like noise and what sounds like fragments of a field recording.

A bizarre jumble this Modern/Antique by Everest Magma, but for those who love it, it is certainly a challenging project.

Tracklist:
A1 Nan Nan
A2 Dres Dued Del
A3 Cuarteo Sa
B1 Oior Rade, Raiod Ode
B2 Maigam Aleer
B3 Cabie Unt Mei Py Comata

boringmachines.it
https://soundcloud.com/boringmachines/everest-magma-dres-dued-del
https://soundcloud.com/boringmachines/everest-magma-cuarteo-sa-long-version

William LIÉNARD
19/11/2015


NL

Everest Magma is de recente incarnatie van de man achter Rella the Woodcutter. Ondertussen heeft hij de psych-rock van z’n eerder werk vaarwel gezegd, en is hij aan de slag gegaan met machines, bandopnemers en pedalen. Het resultaat is een bizarre verzameling noisetracks waarin veldopnamen worden gecombineerd met elektronica en pedals: een zelden gehoorde kakofonie van de meest diverse geluiden.

Nan Nan is hectisch knip- en plakwerk van bellen en nerveuze elektroflashes, repetitief en lawaaierig, maar de track wordt halfweg een stuk rustiger met tussen de krakende elektronoise het geluid van wat lijkt op ijlende (wellicht zijn het zingende) boeddhistische priesters. Een vreemd en druk en later exotisch noisescape, terwijl Dres Dued Del begint met gelaagde elektropercussie en galmende drums als het geluid van een ratelende machine, snel, mechanisch en repetitief, waaraan xylofoonachtig slagwerk wordt toegevoegd, een enkele donkere drone en mantra-achtige stemmen op de achtergrond. Zeer apart. In Cuarteo Sa weerklinken galmende industriële drones op de achtergrond. Op de voorgrond horen we een gemanipuleerde zanglijn, opnieuw refererend aan oosterse mannenstemmen, en dan een loop van repetitieve, versplinterde en nauwelijks herkenbare stemmen.

De B-kant van het album begint rustig met drums en een loop van synths, waaraan noise is toegevoegd, opnieuw repetitief en rustig kabbelend. We horen stromend water en het geluid van vogels, maar het is wellicht allemaal van elektronische oorsprong. Tot nog toe de meest rustige track (Oior Rade, Raiod Ode) op het album. Maigam Aleer is opnieuw een drumtrack waaraan allerlei soorten vervormd geluid zijn toegevoegd (synths, stemmen, elektronoise), repetitief en mantra-achtig, terwijl Cabie Unt Mei Py Comata het album vrij rustig afsluit met goed klinkend elektroflarden, zuigende en vervormde synths, fluitachtige noise tussendoor en wat lijkt op fragmenten uit veldopnamen.

Een bizar allegaartje deze Modern/Antique van Everest Magma, maar voor wie ervan houdt is het beslist een uitdagend project.

William LIÉNARD
19/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CHARNIER • Charnier
SIMPLE MINDS • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (14/11/2015)
MARCEL VANTHILT • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + NOISE
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party