tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2015 : EVI VINE - Give Your Heart To The Hawks

EVI VINE

Give Your Heart To The Hawks

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesPost RockSoundscape

[90/100]   

Self-released
04/07/2015, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A few months ago, Evi Vine has released her 2nd album. As on her debut "... And So The Morning Comes", this lady presents us slow and obscure compositions that drag you slowly but firmly in her own melancholy universe. In a brilliant way her fragile voice is supported by masterful compositions with guitar, synths, drums and cello to complete a unique atmosphere. While reviewing the first album I already spoke about the analogy with Cocteau Twins, and here I still find these same qualities (and sometimes even more).

The album begins with the single "Porcelain", directly the first highlight of the album and illustrating the growth of the compositions of Evi Vine. The perfect, but continuously changing balance between instruments and her fragile voice in a quietly murmuring composition. "Love Is Gone" and title track "Give Your Heart To The Hawks” continue and strengthen this magical universe.

A further highlight is "My Hands Are Tied", in which Evi's lament about the lack of a future places her voice so pure and almost solo before being engulfed in an intense swelling of instruments. Delicious!

The album continues on this high level, and one after another beautiful composition comes along.

The final song is "I'm Not Here", which Evi whispers and recounts at minimal accompaniment. And even though she whispers "It's Never Good Enough", with this album she proves the contrary. A brilliant record that absorbs you effortlessly in her universe, hearing and feeling all those emotions, and only releasing you at the end, briefly, with just enough strength to press the repeat button.

Ward DE PRINS
04/07/2015




NL

Evi Vine heeft sinds enkele maanden haar 2de album uit. Net zoals op haar debuut “…And So The Morning Comes” presenteert deze dame ons trage en duistere composities die je traag maar vastberaden meeslepen in haar eigen melancholisch universum. Op schitterende wijze wordt haar fragiele stem ondersteund door meesterlijke composities waarbij gitaar, synths, drum en cello de sfeer completeren. Bij het eerste album sprak ik al over de analogie met Cocteau Twins, en ook hier blijf ik die kwalitatieve vergelijking terugvinden.

Het album begint met de single “Porcelain”, dat ook ineens het eerste hoogtepunt is en de groei van Evi Vine illustreert. De perfecte doch continue wisselende balans tussen instrumenten in combinatie met haar stem in een rustig voortkabbelende compositie. Ook “Love Is Gone” en titletrack “Give Your Heart To The Hawks” tappen uit datzelfde vaatje en creëren zo dat magische universum.

Een volgend hoogtepunt is “My Hands Are Tied”, waarin Evi’s klaagzang over het ontbreken van een toekomst haar stem haast naakt op de voorgrond plaatst om vervolgens in een intens aanzwellend instrumentarium te worden verzwolgen. Heerlijk!

Het album gaat door op dit elan, en de ene na de andere prachtige compositie komt voorbij.

Eindigen doen we met “I’m Not Here”, waarop Evi fluistert en verhaalt tegen een minimale begeleiding. En ook al fluistert ze “It’s Never Good Enough”, met dit album bewijst ze het tegendeel. Een briljant plaatje dat je moeiteloos in haar universum opslokt, je alle emoties laat meevoelen, en je enkel even loslaat om weer op de “repeat” knop te drukken.

Ward DE PRINS
04/07/2015




 

Next reviews
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
METALTECH • Burn Your Planet
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
DRP • Peace Offensive
JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) • Ten albums that changed my life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015
UMANZUKI • Porta
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS

 

Other reviews from EVI VINE
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • ...And So The Morning Comes

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall