tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual

FERAL BODY

Chain Ritual

MusicDigital
DarkwaveElectronicsPost Industrial

[90/100]   

Self-released
15/05/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

First things first: I owe it to the brilliant website I Die: You Die the discovery of this rather obscure band. Feral Body is an all male three-piece from Detroit, USA, and this 'Chain Ritual' EP is only the band's second relase so far. Yet the sound of these three tracks, just like the three tracks in their previous EP, appears to be fully-formed and very clear right from the start.

The idea is fairly simple: complex beats, atmospheric keyboards, and ghostly vocals. The beats have a post-techno and post-industrial feel to them in terms of the sound itself but are never straightforward. You won't hear a single four-to-the-floor kick drum here, and that's extremely refreshing. The beats are masterfully crafted, with the right balance of distortion and use of space between them. The structure and the intermingling with the keyboards/synths are superb.

On top of this we hear those eerie vocals, drenched in reverb and at the same time clear in their delivery. It feels almost like a disembodied singer floating around the band, haunting the other two members. Still, for all its murkiness and intensity, the band never loses its sense of structure. Fever Cry, the last track, is almost pop. This is what sets Feral Body apart from many of the artists using similar elements nowadays. It's a sound that well deserves a full-length album.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
15/05/2018


15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual 15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual 15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My