tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FEW BITS - Big Sparks

FEW BITS

Big Sparks

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[93/100]   

PIAS
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Three years ago, the debut of Few Bits was released. A wonderful album that actually sounded like the dreamy diary of Karolien Van Ransbeeck. A lot has happened in the meantime. She is known outside Belgium, and on Big Sparks Few Bits has become a six-member band that seeks adventure. They describe it as daring to swim without a life jacket. This new album is indeed a challenge, but what a result! The band went to the Belgian Ardennes. In the GAM studios a lot of tracks were recorded that now are part of one of the finest indie releases (or dream pop) of this year. On the cover we see a female child with an innocent face, but it looks like if she’s angry and wants to say us something, and so does Few Bits.

The title of Summer Sun unveils everything: a delicious shoegaze song with a hint of Belly. Actually, the voice of Karolien Van Ransbeeck reminds us more than once of Tanya Donnelly, as they’re both fragile, but strong at the same time. You can sing Set Your Free while riding your bike or you can play it in your pitch-dark room while you are thinking about life. There are more than enough possibilities for dreaming away on this gem: no one will be untouched after hearing Chasing Rainbows.

The title track Big Sparks is the best song on this magnificent disc. It sounds like a naive pop song, but it has the beauty of say Slowdive and The Sundays. Anyone Else also has that quality, although it is different. It was difficult to find a single on Few Bits’ debut album, but the new one has plenty. Play Do Your Best in the morning on the radio, and you'll go to work with a smile on your face. Magnificent indie pop that even feels a bit sexy. It strikes me how often I use the word "beautiful", but try to find another description for Sweet Warrior. It approaches perfection, just brilliant! After eight wonderful pop songs, Karolien does something different, a bit more experimental.

Big Sparks concludes with the dreamy Days and the strange (almost incomprehensible, but nonetheless excellent) Souvenir.

The year is still young, as they say, but Few Bits made one of the best albums of 2016 so far.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Drie jaar geleden verscheen het debuutalbum van Few Bits. Een wondermooie plaat die eigenlijk klonk als het dromerige dagboek van Karolien Van Ransbeeck. Er is veel gebeurd in die tijd. In het buitenland weet men al lang wie deze blondine is, en op Big Sparks is Few Bits een zeskoppige band geworden die van avontuur houdt. Zelf omschrijven ze het als durven zwemmen zonder zwemvest. Een uitdaging is deze nieuwe plaat beslist. De band trok de Ardennen in en nam er in de GAM Studio’s een heleboel tracks op die nu staan te pronken op wat voor één van de mooiste indiereleases (of noem het maar gewoon dreampop) van het jaar is. Op de hoes kijkt een meisje ons onschuldig aan, maar het lijkt alsof ze boos is, ze wil ons wat zeggen en dat geldt ook voor Few Bits.

Summer Sun onthult alles door zijn titel: een heerlijke shoegazetrack met een vleugje Belly. Eigenlijk doet de stem van Karolien Van Ransbeeck ons meer dan eens aan Tanya Donnelly denken: fragiel, maar tegelijkertijd oersterk. Set Your Free is een lied dat je heerlijk op de fiets kan meezingen, maar je kan het evengoed in het hoekje van je pikdonkere kamer beluisteren om na te denken over het leven. En daar blijft het niet bij, er zijn meer dan mogelijkheden genoeg om weg te dromen op deze prachtplaat: zo zal niemand onberoerd blijven bij Chasing Rainbows.

De titeltrack Big Sparks is het mooiste van dit buitengewoon schijfje: kwetsbare pop vol melancholie. Het klinkt als een naïef popliedje, maar het bevat een schoonheid die we sinds Slowdive en The Sundays niet meer hebben gehoord. Anyone Else heeft ook die kwaliteit, ofschoon het toch weer anders is. Was het moeilijk om op de vorige plaat een single aan te treffen, dan staat de nieuwe er bol van. Speel ’s morgens Do Your Best op de radio, en je gaat zelfs met plezier naar je werk. Wondermooie indiepop die zelfs een tikkeltje sexy aanvoelt.

Het valt me op hoe vaak ik de woorden “prachtig” en “mooi” gebruik, maar tracht Sweet Warrior maar eens met andere woorden omschrijven. Het benadert de perfectie, dit is gewoon briljant!

Na acht heerlijke popliedjes mag het best wat moeilijker, moet Karolien hebben gedacht. Daarom wordt Big Sparks afgesloten met het mijmerende Days en het vreemde (bijna niet te vatten) Souvenir.

Het jaar is nog jong zoals ze zeggen, maar Few Bits heeft al een plaats in het lijstje afgedwongen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
ISZOLOSCOPE • False Vacuum
FAR FROM YOUR SUN • In The Beginning…Was the Emotion
WHISPERING SONS/ GRAND BLANC • Brussels, Botanique (09/03/2016)
KARAWANE • Karawane
SONJA KRAUSHOFER • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from FEW BITS
FEW BITS • Few Bits

 

Same combination of genres: DREAMPOP + INDIE
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
THE SILENCE SET • Teeth Out
RYCERZYKI • Rycerzyki
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
MIST • The Loop of Love
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
GOSPEL • Ain't Gonna Let You In

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.