tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Andrew Haigh: 45 Years

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Andrew Haigh: 45 Years

Movie
Drama

[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Andrew Haigh is one of the directors about whom critics can’t stop raving. First there was Weekend and then there was the HBO series Looking about trendy gay people. Haigh apparently has something with relationships, because his last film, that was a revelation at the Berlin Film Festival, is also about that subject. We follow a week in the life of Geoff ( Tom Courtenay ) and Kate ( Charlotte Rampling ), who soon will organize a party because they have been married for 45 years. But a letter throws a spanner in the works. Geoff is informed that finally, after decades, the body of his first love has been found. The man can’t take the emotions and the marriage that lasted 45 years, seems a lie.

Rampling and Courtenay were rightly praised for their performances, as 45 Years is indeed a film that stands out for the interpretations. Don’t be scared if you didn’t like Looking, because this drama is wonderfully old fashioned and suitable for a wide audience.

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Andrew Haigh is één van de regisseurs over wie critici maar niet uitgepraat raken. Eerst was er Weekend en nadien volgde de HBO-reeks Looking over hippe homo’s. Haigh heeft blijkbaar iets met relaties, want zijn laatste film, die een revelatie was op het Filmfestival van Berlijn, gaat erover. We volgen een weekje uit het leven van Geoff (Tom Courtenay) en Kate (Charlotte Rampling), die weldra een feestje organiseren omdat ze 45 jaar getrouwd zijn. Maar een brief gooit roet in het eten. Geoff wordt op de hoogte gebracht van het fei dat men jaren na datum het lichaam van zijn eerste liefde heeft teruggevonden. De man kan de emoties nauwelijks aan en het huwelijk, dat 45 jaar stand heeft gehouden, blijkt één grote leugen te zijn.

Rampling en Courtenay werden terecht gelauwerd voor hun prestaties, want 45 Years is een film die vooral opvalt door de vertolkingen. Laat je vooral niet afschrikken als je Looking maar niks vond, want dit drama is heerlijk ouderwets en geschikt voor een breed publiek. 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JOHN BRENTON • AM FM
PROCOL HARUM • Procol Harum
BRUNO BAVOTA • Chamber Concert (Rapertingen/Hasselt, Domein Henegauw, 20/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
KILLING JOKE • Pylon

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

Music reviews

06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight