tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/06/2011 : FINK - Perfect Darkness

FINK

Perfect Darkness

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalIndieShoegaze

[85/100]   

PIAS
22/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Fin Greenhall, aka Fink, started out as a DJ half way through the nineties. He was also producer for Amy Winehouse, although no one had heard of her back then. These days he gets around as a singer-songwriter and released a new album: ‘Perfect Darkness’ and it has to be said, never before did an album title fit an album quite so well. Beware though, those expecting electro beats are getting a run for their money. This is a whole other kind of darkness. The kind that crawls beneath your skin from the very start.

It all starts out rather quietly. A blues-like voice, an acoustic guitar,… And you start wondering exactly where the darkness is supposed to be coming from, but you find out the answer soon enough once you start paying attention to the lyrics. You quickly realize this album won’t exactly leave you feeling warm and fuzzy inside… Or, will it?

‘Honesty’ for example is bound to leave you with goose bumps. ‘It’s taken long enough to see your true colors baby, you’ve got so many, you’re like a fucking rainbow’. Now if that isn’t poetry I don’t know what is and just when you start to feel like you might get pulled under, ‘Warm Shadow’ proves to be lifesaver. Personal favorite is ‘Who Says’, that together with ‘Warm Shadow’ provides a welcome ray of hope and sunshine through all that darkness.

‘Perfect Darkness’ seems to possess some kind of healing powers. As soon as you hit play it's extremely difficult to press stop again until the last note of the album. It’s a little bit like a stream train. Starts rather slowly but once it hits full speed, it’s nearly impossible to stop.

In support of the new album, Fink also announced a European tour, which brings him to the Orangerie in Brussels on October 6th, 2011. All dates can be found at http://www.finkworld.co.uk/allgigs/

Melissa BAUWENS
22/06/2011


NL

Fin Greenall, beter bekend als Fink, begon eigenlijk eind jaren ’90 als DJ. Hij was ondermeer ook producer voor Amy Winehouse, waar op dat moment nog niemand van gehoord had.

Tegenwoordig komt hij vooral aan de bak als singer-songwriter en heeft hij een nieuw album ‘Perfect Darkness’ uit. En het moet gezegd, nog nooit omvatte een titel een album zo mooi. Wie zich verwacht aan Electro-achtige beats, is er aan voor de moeite. Dit is een heel andere soort ‘darkness’. Eentje die al van bij de eerste luisterbeurt onder je huid kruipt.

Nochtans begint het allemaal heel rustig. Een blues-achtige stem, een acoustische gitaar,... En je vraagt je af vanwaar die donkerheid dan moet komen. Tot je aandachtig naar de teksten begint te luisteren. Al van bij de title track ‘Perfect Darkness’ heb je door dat je niet bepaald vrolijk zult worden van dit album. En toch...

Een echt kippenvelmoment is het nummer ‘Honesty’: ‘It’s taken long enough to see your true colors baby, you’ve got so many, you’re like a fucking rainbow’. Als dat geen poezie is... En net als je dreigt verzwolgen te worden door al die donkere perfectheid, is ‘Warm Shadow’ een welgekomen lichtpuntje. Persoonlijke favoriet is ‘Who Says’. Samen met ‘Warm Shadow’ een van de zeldzame sprankeltjes hoop in de duisternis vormt.

‘Perfect Darkness’ heeft een soort magisch helend effect. Eens je op de ‘play’ drukt is het heel moeilijk om heb album weer op stop te zetten tot je de laatste noten gehoord hebt. Het is een beetje als een stoomtrein die traag op gang komt maar eens op topsnelheid, met geen mogelijkheid meer te stoppen valt.

In ondersteuning van het nieuwe album maakte Fink ook een Europese tour bekend. Op 6 oktober staat hij in de Orangerie te Brussel. Ik heb alvast mijn ticket. Dit is zonder meer een niet te missen concert.

Alle tourdata zijn te vinden op http://www.finkworld.co.uk/allgigs/

Melissa BAUWENS
22/06/2011


Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)