tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

20/01/2016 : FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS - Crash/Overtime

FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS

Crash/Overtime

MusicCD single
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[82/100]   

Dancedelic D
20/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Dirk Da Davo is one of the founders of The Neon Judgement and these days well known as one of the beat masters of Neon Electronics. With Formshift (the alter ego of Dutchman Gavin Bucktrout) he releases this new single on his label Dancedelic D, which contains two songs.

Already when he was 13, Gavin played vinyl records, and later he stood behind the turntables at big parties and festivals as D-Spirit. In those days he met Dirk Da Davo who immediately was keen on his electronic thumps. This meeting is now leading to a first collaboration.

Crash is somewhere between EBM and dance/techno. The drum beat comes from the old EBM days, tight and repetitive, with a solid pace, complemented with dance and techno elements.

The same monotonous drumbeat also forms the basis of Overtime. The vocals remind me of Apoptygma Berzerk and a bit of Praga Khan. The song has a quiet part, after which the drum rhythms take over again.

You feel that there is a musical chemistry between these two guys, and I think an album is an option!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/01/2016

https://soundcloud.com/the-neon-judgement/formshift-ft-neon-electronics-crash-overtime-preview-audio-sample

NL

Dirk Da Davo is één van de oprichters van The Neon Judgement en ondertussen ook meer dan bekend als één van de beatmasters van Neon Electronics. Samen met Formshift (het alter ego van de Nederlander Gavin Bucktrout) brengt hij op zijn label Dancedelic D deze single uit waarop twee songs staan.

Gavin draaide al vanaf zijn dertiende zijn eerste vinyl en op latere leeftijd speelde hij op grote fuiven en festivals onder de naam D-Spirit. In die dagen liep hij Dirk Da Davo tegen het lijf, die meteen weg was van het elektronische dreunwerk van Gavin. De ontmoeting heeft nu deze eerste single tot gevolg.

Crash houdt het midden tussen EBM en dance/techno-elementen. De drumbeat komt uit de oude EBM-doos, strak en repetitief en met een stevig tempo. Elementen uit dance en techno vloeien er mooi overheen.

Eenzelfde monotone droge drumbeat vormt ook de basis van Overtime. Vocaal doet de zang me wat aan Apoptygma Berzerk en flarden van Praga Khan denken. Het nummer heeft een rustige passage, om dan weer naar drumritmes terug te keren.

Het is duidelijk voelbaar dat er sprake is van een muzikale klik tussen deze twee mannen, en wat mij betreft mag dat ook in een album resulteren!

 

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/01/2016

https://soundcloud.com/the-neon-judgement/formshift-ft-neon-electronics-crash-overtime-preview-audio-sample

 

Next reviews
AN PIERLÉ & FULCO OTTERVANGER • Slumberland
RAINMODE • On
FRANK WEYZIG (BORN FOR BLISS) • Meeting A Starman (David Bowie)
PANKOW • Throw Out Rite
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
HARLOWE • Harlowe
MARC ALMOND • The Velvet Trail
THE GURU GURU • Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)
METATRON OMEGA • Gnosis Dei

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace