tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : FRAGILE TOM - The Particular Go

FRAGILE TOM

The Particular Go

MusicDigital
Synth WaveSynthpop

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Particular Go was released in 2015 as a digital download. But the band asked us to give these songs some attention and after listening, we decided that they deserve a chance.

Rauhofer and Huber, the German duo behind Fragile Tom, have released two full albums so far. In 2011 there was Kingdom of Mistrust and four years later, The Particular Go. The last album is a little more pop oriented and is more accesible than the debut. It sounds a bit like Hurts, OMD, Erasure and other related bands. Or in other words: poppy and atmospheric synth pop. Rather innocent, but catchy and melodic.

Rauhofer is responsible for the vocals and he's doing this in a decent way. Only on Together in Here and Hollow Eyes it goes a bit wrong, simply because the two songs don't match his voice. But songs like The Tone, Removed From Fiction or Bleak November Sun are perfect.

Anna is a rather introspective track that is also included as a bonus on the Bertha Mix, which adds some club- elements. However, both versions have their value.

Synthpop lovers certainly will be interested, because everything is well done with fine lyrics, and it sounds catchy and poppy. Take a look at the beautiful art cover with the Pieter Bruegel painting (Return of the Hunters).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Particular Go is in 2015 als digitale download uitgebracht. Maar men vroeg ons om deze songs toch nog eens onder de aandacht te brengen en een eerste beluistering deed ons besluiten dat dit album een kans verdiende.

Rauhofer en Huber, het Duitse duo achter Fragile Tom, hebben tot dusver 2 albums uitgebracht. In 2011 was er Kingdom of Mistrust en vier jaar later The Particular Go. Het laatste album is nog iets meer popgericht en ligt nog iets beter in het gehoor dan het debuut. Het gaat een beetje in de richting van Hurts, OMD, Erasure en aanverwante bands. Het klinkt als sfeervolle hitgevoelige synthpop: eerder ongevaarlijk, wel catchy en melodieus. Rauhofer is verantwoordelijk voor de vocals en doet dat meer dan behoorlijk. Enkel op Together in Here en Hollow Eyes slaat hij de bal wat mis: die twee tracks liggen hem vocaal gewoon wat minder goed. Maar op songs zoals The Tone, Removed From Fiction of Bleak November Sun gaat zijn zang goed samen met de dromerige en atmosferische songs. Anna is een eerder introspectieve track die je als bonus ook in de Bertha Mix kan horen met wat clubelementjes die de song wat laten openbloeien. Beide versies hebben hun waarde en zijn hier terecht aanwezig.

Synthpopliefhebbers zullen hier zeker interesse voor hebben, want alles zit goed in elkaar en bevat fijne teksten. Let ook op de mooie gestyleerde hoes met het Pieter Bruegel-schilderij (Terugkomst van de Jagers).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
IOKOI • Liquefy
TORUL • Saviour of Love
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
TANZ OHNE MUSIK • Infinity
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES) • Ten Albums That changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn