tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/05/2012 : FRANK RIGGIO - Psychexcess I - Presentism

FRANK RIGGIO

Psychexcess I - Presentism

MusicCD
ExperimentalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Neoclassical

[70/100]   

Hymen Records
21/05/2012, Chris KONINGS

Another weird one from Hymen Records... In a previous career Frank was mixing acid with turntables under the monikers Knarf or FRA and later he formed Sagaloops, a label that got some recognision in the rave movement. He also made a load of EP's but in 2005 he took a fresh start and started working under his own name.

Just like Lingouf he uses a lot of classical instruments like violins and piano, but don't expect breakbeat from the lunatic asylum here. This work is a lot more down to earth and at the same time very trippy, an ode to Aphex Twin, Coil, Biosphere and other such artists. Great depth of production also!

The first few songs are a symbiosis between classical violins and idm. It's not until "Flowing Magma" that there is a pop oriented (in the broadest view) around, like a dark and pulsating Portishead or Massive Attack song. There's heaps more to be discovered, like quirky downtempo (Big Tunnel Recordist) and even spacy analogue ambient like Biosphere (Infinie Galaxie II). Or you can experience it all at once, "Fractal D" sounds like they uploaded the entire musical history in the Deep Blue supercomputer that compiled it into one slab of sound/silence.

One problem though, he's still finding his way through this new approach so it all reeks of incohesiveness. The last song "Vislarm" epitomises that feeling, it sounds like three tracks rolled into one. Three very good tracks that is, but you wouldn't eat a wrap with tunafish, chocolat and an omelet on top now would you?

Still it's good to skid through once in a while, choosing those tracks depending on your mood. And there are some excellent ones on this disc!

Hymen Records

Chris KONINGS
21/05/2012


 

Next reviews
COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 12th May 2012 with A Challenge of Honour and Skeptical Minds
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Painthings
TOM SIX • The Human Centipede
• Seawave 2
COMA DIVINE • Dead End Circle
AROMA DI AMORE • Samizdat
CONTEMPORARY NOISE SEXTET • Ghostwriter's Joke
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
PAS • Pure Energy Output Sessions
THE TELESCOPES • Taste

 

Other reviews from FRANK RIGGIO
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour