tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day

FRED WALTON

April Fool's Day

MovieCult movies
Horror

[69/100]   

Universal Pictures
04/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In our fine (yeah, even if we say it ourselves) series that feature horror movies that no one remembers we digged up April Fool’s Day from 1986. Mind you, the movie is not a masterpiece, but certainly deserves its place next to those other famous slasher movies from the 80’s. The movie was an idea from Paramount Pictures. In those days A Nightmare on Elm Street was the ultimate horror hit and it really looked like if the public didn’t care about all those sequels from Friday The 13th. Producer Frank Mancuso Jr understood this as he was after all the man who pumped money in the disaster that Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning was. Scriptwriter Danilo Bach (the man who came up with the Beverly Hills Cop–films) had a brilliant idea: a whodunnit-movie that looked like a horror satire!


Agreed, something like this looks ridiculous on paper, but due to the enthusiastic cast and decent directing from Fred Walton (who already hade made the horrorhit When a Stranger Calls with Charles Durning and an episode from Miami Vice) April Fool’s Day turned out to be a (now kind of forgotten) horror classic that deserves to be (re)discovered by every fan.


It’s a bit of a shame that the title reveals the plot, but apart from that, Walton succeeds in fooling the viewer. The effects are standard, but decent though. The girls are absolutely gorgeous (especially Deborah Foreman and Deborah Goodrich) and the dialogues very funny. Among the boys you’ll notice Griffin O’Neal (the son from superstar Ryan) who ended up a year later in jail because he was responsible for an accident on a sailing boat that caused the death of Gian-Carlo Coppola (indeed, also the son from). Strange enough a similar accident was included in this movie….


Ten years later Frank Mancuso Jr thought it was necessary to produce a remake, but we keep it to the first one. Originals always do taste better, not?

Didier BECU
04/08/2014


NL

In de reeks “horrorfilms die geen kat meer kent” halen we graag nog eens April Fool’s Day uit 1986 vanonder het stof. De film is zeker geen meesterwerk, maar mag gerust naast het bekendere slasherwerk uit de jaren 80 pronken. De film is een bedenksel van de Paramount Pictures. A Nightmare on Elm Street was ondertussen de horrorhit van het moment geworden en producer Frank Mancuso Jr had het al lang door dat het bioscooppubliek niet meer naar de sequels van Friday The 13th kwam kijken. En hij kon het als geen ander weten, want hij was de man die een jaartje eerder geld in het fiasco Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning had gestoken. Het was scenarioschrijver Danilo Bach (bedenker van de Beverly Hills Cop–films) die met een nieuw idee op de proppen kwam. Een whodunnit-film die er als een horrorsatire uitzag!

Op papier klopt zoiets natuurlijk voor geen meter, maar dankzij de enthousiaste cast en de onderhoudende regie van Fred Walton (die daarvoor al de horrorhit When a Stranger Calls met veteraan Charles Durning en zelfs een aflevering uit Miami Vice had gedraaid) is April Fool’s Day een vergeten horrorklassieker geworden die iedere griezelfanaat moet hebben gezien.

Jammer genoeg verraadt de titel tevens de plot, maar dat neemt toch niet weg dat Walton erin slaagt om de kijker een uur in het ooitje te nemen. De schrikeffecten zijn standaard, maar van een zeer degelijk niveau. De meiden zijn superknap (vooral Deborah Foreman en Deborah Goodrich) en de dialogen meer dan onderhoudend. Tussen de jongens herken je ook Griffin O’Neal (zoon van superster Ryan) die een jaar later in de nor belandde omdat hij verantwoordelijk was voor een zeilbootongeluk waarbij Gian-Carlo Coppola (zoon van!) om het leven kwam. En vreemd genoeg gebeurt er in deze film iets gelijkaardigs…

Meer dan tien jaar later vond Frank Mancuso Jr het nodig om ook de remake te produceren, maar wij houden het op het origineel. Dat smaakt altijd beter, niet?

Didier BECU
04/08/2014


04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour