tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

02/03/2019 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Wake Up The Coma

FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY

Wake Up The Coma

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
ElectroElectro PopExperimental

[90/100]   

Metropolis Records
02/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

The sonic-driven, industrial sound of Front Line Assembly is a welcome swell of edm at the dawn of 2019. Their latest and one which perhaps hints at a return to their cyber-punk roots is the electrified ‘Wake Up The Coma’.

It has been a long six-years since their previous release, ‘Echogenetic’ in 2013. Since then the band has morphed again though through necessity with the sad loss of Jeremy Inkel last year through asthma complications. This is where some of the poignancy lies within ‘Wake Up The Coma’, Inkel’s last contributions can be heard here in the haunting ‘Structures’ and ‘Mesmerized’, and as a mark of respect the recording was released on the day of his birthday(08/02).
This recording however marks the return of Rhys Fulber, alongside Bill Leeb the duo move enigmatically into another dimension.

That aside, the album is a fine release if not a little uneven at times. It cannot be viewed as the moment when FLA break new ground or push forward in a new direction. Instead they create a layered, ambient landscape through a flawless production. With the aggression levels at a low, and an album which switches tempos and themes effortlessly without any jump into dangerous territory.

And then there is the slices of pop, in for one the curious if not highly enjoyable cover of the Falco classic ‘Rock Me Amadeus’. At first what may sound like a curious edition becomes an overwhelming addiction, though guest vocalist Jimmy Urine of Mindless Self Indulgence sings faithfully in German. Other guest cameos include Nick Holmes from metal band Paradise Lost on the title track and Chris Connelly on the closing ‘Spitting Wind’.

Leeb has thirty-three years honing the sound of Front Line Assembly, what may seem like an ordinary album from them would be a masterpiece for a contemporary. The album is not bad, ‘Wake Up The Coma’ is a solid affair, great in places-curios in others, it just does not give us anything new sounding.

Track List:
1. Front Line Assembly feat. Robert Görl - Eye On You (feat. Robert Görl)
2. Arbeit
3. Rock Me Amadeus (feat. Jimmy Urine)
4. Tilt
5. Hatevol
6. Proximity
7. Living A Lie
8. Front Line Assembly feat. Nick Holmes - Wake Up The Coma (feat. Nick Holmes)
9. Mesmerized
10. Negative Territory
11. Structures
12. Front Line Assembly feat. Chris Connelly - Spitting Wind (feat. Chris Connelly)

Kevin BURKE
02/03/2019


 

Next reviews
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
SPC ECO • Fifteen
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
QUAL • Cyber Care

 

Other reviews from FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight