tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

02/03/2019 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Wake Up The Coma

FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY

Wake Up The Coma

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
ElectroElectro PopExperimental

[90/100]   

Metropolis Records
02/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

The sonic-driven, industrial sound of Front Line Assembly is a welcome swell of edm at the dawn of 2019. Their latest and one which perhaps hints at a return to their cyber-punk roots is the electrified ‘Wake Up The Coma’.

It has been a long six-years since their previous release, ‘Echogenetic’ in 2013. Since then the band has morphed again though through necessity with the sad loss of Jeremy Inkel last year through asthma complications. This is where some of the poignancy lies within ‘Wake Up The Coma’, Inkel’s last contributions can be heard here in the haunting ‘Structures’ and ‘Mesmerized’, and as a mark of respect the recording was released on the day of his birthday(08/02).
This recording however marks the return of Rhys Fulber, alongside Bill Leeb the duo move enigmatically into another dimension.

That aside, the album is a fine release if not a little uneven at times. It cannot be viewed as the moment when FLA break new ground or push forward in a new direction. Instead they create a layered, ambient landscape through a flawless production. With the aggression levels at a low, and an album which switches tempos and themes effortlessly without any jump into dangerous territory.

And then there is the slices of pop, in for one the curious if not highly enjoyable cover of the Falco classic ‘Rock Me Amadeus’. At first what may sound like a curious edition becomes an overwhelming addiction, though guest vocalist Jimmy Urine of Mindless Self Indulgence sings faithfully in German. Other guest cameos include Nick Holmes from metal band Paradise Lost on the title track and Chris Connelly on the closing ‘Spitting Wind’.

Leeb has thirty-three years honing the sound of Front Line Assembly, what may seem like an ordinary album from them would be a masterpiece for a contemporary. The album is not bad, ‘Wake Up The Coma’ is a solid affair, great in places-curios in others, it just does not give us anything new sounding.

Track List:
1. Front Line Assembly feat. Robert Görl - Eye On You (feat. Robert Görl)
2. Arbeit
3. Rock Me Amadeus (feat. Jimmy Urine)
4. Tilt
5. Hatevol
6. Proximity
7. Living A Lie
8. Front Line Assembly feat. Nick Holmes - Wake Up The Coma (feat. Nick Holmes)
9. Mesmerized
10. Negative Territory
11. Structures
12. Front Line Assembly feat. Chris Connelly - Spitting Wind (feat. Chris Connelly)

Kevin BURKE
02/03/2019


 

Next reviews
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
SPC ECO • Fifteen
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
QUAL • Cyber Care

 

Other reviews from FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)