tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

FRONT242 + RADICAL G

live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

Concert
Cold EBMEBMElectro

[99/100]   
25/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I hope you all know the great venue where one of our all-time heroes performed one of their best sets so far! I love De Vooruit, a great place, with great sound and nicely renovated! This one smells great musical history!

Warm up was served by a guy who did it a lot in the past (at least the gigs I saw). This time I could see him from really close and noticed his funny ears (very pointy, as if he's an elf, together with his very sharp and long nose). I'm sorry, I have just seen the first season of Grimm and am still under influence of the episode where a rat monster was playing the killer DJ... It reminded me of that! Well, the guy launched his beats, slowly building up the tension. You can call his music cold EBM on rave! What else did I see: a laptop, some kind of live synth and a microphone that he used to fire up the audience and launch some vocals now and then. The end came somehow too fast, the audience was awake and getting along very well with his music. For me it could have lasted a bit more and that is always a good thing! Now up to the long awaited gig!

The Vooruit was getting properly filled (sadly unsure if it was finally sold out or not). The first thing I notice is that they start with another sound (not the typical 'Happiness’) and with new visuals! From the start I'm getting sucked up by the music, losing myself in their beats, movements, dancing, jumping, running, firing up the audience... It was all powered up, maxed up! These guys are in better shape than me (and I’m actually younger)! 'Moldavia' is a great opener, but it is strange that they didn't play that one. 'Body to Body' knocked us all out and it only started! It was for sure 'A Lovely Day'! The next 2 songs are not so well known, but it's good that they take some risks! 'Headhunter' was a real headshot! The audience loved it and reacted as totally in ecstasy! Next big hits are 'U-Men' and 'Funkhadafi' all in a new version! It's great that they keep on reinventing themselves after all those years, instead of simply playing the same stuff over and over! This is what makes the difference with all the other clones of theirs! They prove once more why they are our all-time favorites in this genre! We all dance, jump and shadow fight all along! People started screaming for 'Welcome to Paradise', but had to wait until just after another master hit 'Im Rhythmus Bleiben'! This was our passage in EBM heaven! This was also the end of the regular set, no doubt that the people wanted more and they made it very clear!

I must say that the live version from Underviewer is a more dramatic version, but this one is not bad either. 'Punish Your Machine' was another highlight!

Still the audience wanted more, the band doubted, the sound of the microphones was even already cut out, but the right vibe was there! Richard23 fooled a bit around and joked. He fired up the fans and everybody got the ultimate Front242 track! 'No Shuffle' is an evergreen, no matter in what kind of version they bring it! It was a bomb and the crowd shouted a long until the song was done and the band decided to leave the stage for good! Even outside I still heard the people singing the song! It was for sure a great night! Thank you Filip Delens and Happy Birthday!

  1. Moldavia

  2. Body to Body

  3. Lovely Day

  4. Together

  5. 7Rain

  6. Headhunter

  7. Take One

  8. Circling Overland

  9. Triple X Girlfriend

  10. Quite Unusual

  11. U-Men

  12. Funkahdafi

  13. Commando Mix

  14. Melt

  15. Im Rhythmus Bleiben

  16. Welcome to Paradise

    Encore:

  17. Kampfbereit

  18. Punish Your Machine

    Encore 2:

  19. No Shuffle

Underviewer interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
25/05/2014


25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

 

Next reviews
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
DOUGLAS AARNIOKOSKI • Nurse 3D
CLICK CLICK • Those Nervous Surgeons
SPENCER MOODY • SINGLE CAR ACIDENT
ROMAN POLANSKI • Venus In Fur
BLACK ANVIL • Hail Death
STILLE VOLK • La Peira Negra
JOSS WHEDON • Much ado about nothing
YOLANDE MOREAU • Henri
CODY CAMERON & KRIS PEARN • Cloudy with a chance of meatballs 2

 

Same combination of genres: COLD EBM + EBM + ELECTRO
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
LESCURE 13 • Too Much Motherf***ckers
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil

 

Same genre: EBM
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
THE POGUES FEATURING KIRSTY MACCOLL
Fairytale Of New York
19
06
0KONTROL
Traitors
18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)