tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors

GABE TURNER

The Guvnors

Movie
Drama

[63/100]   

Metrodome
21/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Once there was a time when England was automatically associated with hooligans. In the 80's Mitch (Doug Allen) was a fighter with his gang The Guvnors, the fear of the town. Twenty years later, much has changed. He is a respected businessman, has a beautiful wife, wants his son to be the example and as a catharsis he wrote a book about his past misdeeds. For Mitch the violence is nothing more than a youth sin. That will change when their former leader (now a pub owner) Mickey (David Essex) is beaten to death by a new gang (This is my square !).

You definitely have seen a film like The Guvnors (and perhaps even better), but this British production rises nonetheless above mediocrity because of the excellent performances. Doug Allen convincingly plays the role of the ex-hooligan who is now a yuppie in fashionable London, while Harley Sylvester (the figure head of the rap group Rizzle Kicks ) is one of the most terrifying baddies that you recently saw in a British crime film. A piece of dangerous scum that aimlessly walks around in the streets, armed with a simple box cutter. The Guvnors is violent, but debuting director Gabe Turner knows how to control it by balancing drama with brutal violence.

The Guvnors is certainly not an original film, but one that gives you viewing pleasure (although the Shakespearean finale was not really necessary) and is now available on DVD through Metrodome.

Didier BECU
21/12/2014


NL

Ooit was er een tijd waarin Engeland werd geassocieerd met hooligans. In de jaren 80 was Mitch (Doug Allen) ook zo’n vechtersbaas die samen met zijn groepje The Guvnors rivaliserende supporters met plezier een klap op hun bek verkocht. Twintig jaar later is er veel veranderd. Hij is een alom gerespecteerde zakenman, heeft een knappe vrouw, wil dat zijn zoon het voorbeeld geeft en als catharsis heeft hij zelfs een boek over zijn vroegere wandaden geschreven. Voor Mitch is het geweld van toen niet meer dan een jeugdzonde. Daar komt verandering in als hun gewezen leider (nu cafébaas) Mickey (David Essex) dood wordt geslagen door een jeugdbende die baas speelt over de Londense buitenwijken (This is my square!).

Een film als The Guvnors heb je zeker al eerder gezien (en wellicht zelfs beter), toch stijgt deze Britse productie boven de middelmaat uit dankzij de excellente vertolkingen. Doug Allen speelt overtuigend de rol van een ex-hooligan die nu de plak zwaait in het mondaine Londen, terwijl Harley Sylvester (boegbeeld van de rapgroep Rizzle Kicks) één van de meest schrikwekkende baddies is die je in een recente Britse misdaadfilm zag. Een stuk tuig dat doelloos in de straten rondloopt en met een eenvoudig stanleymes de schrik van de buurt wordt. The Guvnors is wel gewelddadig, maar debuterend regisseur Gabe Turner weet zich te beheersen door drama met geweld mooi in evenwicht te brengen.

The Guvnors is zeker geen originele film, wel eentje die je met plezier uitkijkt (ofschoon het Shakespeariaanse slot niet echt nodig was) en is nu verkrijgbaar op dvd via het Britse Metrodome.

Didier BECU
21/12/2014


21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour