tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

GAETS (THE INSIGHT)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
29/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

Gaets from the French post-punk band 'The Insight' is another musician who wants to share with us those precious ten albums that changed his life.

1. JOY DIVISION - Closer
This is the album that had the most influence on me. When poetry meets post-punk music. Always on the razor's edge, precarious balance, emotions and rage. This is what I want to hear from a band.

2. THE CURE- Pornography
Another album in which you feel all the rage and it is like the band has reached the point of no return. I was 15 when I heard this for the first time.

3. THE CURE - Carnage Visors
This is not an album, but as this track is running above 28 minutes, I must mention it as something that really changed my music life. Everything in this track is brilliant. Robert Smith's guitar and Simon Gallup 's bass are awesome. A very great atmosphere from start to finish.

4. PINK FLOYD - The Dark Side of the Moon
I like to lie on my sofa, close my eyes and listen to this album.

5. COCTEAU TWINS - Garlands
Another dark album I used to listen to when I was young. What surprised me was Robin Guthrie's guitar and Elisabeth Frazer 's voice. The track "blind dumb deaf" at the "BBC sessions" is very well played.

6. INTERPOL - Turn on the Bright Light.
I was driving to work when I heard Untitled on a local radio station. I remember saying OMG, isn't this band very much inspired by Joy Division?? A few month after, I saw them, before their gig in Rennes. Awesome gig.

7. MASSIVE ATTACK - Mezzanine
This is one of my favorites from the band. Dark ambiance. Hypnotic electronics beats are a very good "source of inspiration".

8. EDITORS - The Weight of Your Love
I particularly like this album for the production. All the songs are very well recorded and the sound is absolutly amazing. Saw them during their tour... very amazing on stage.

9. RIDE - Nowhere
It is a discovery of my best friend. We were young and this shoegaze sound is amazing. I remember listening to this album at night in the garden of my parent's house.

10. A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS - Exploding Heads
This one is a discovery of my brother (the drummer of The Insight). I was not awared that this band was playing so loud on stage. Massive bass and exploding guitares...

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/08/2015


29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/08/2015 : GAETS (THE INSIGHT) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings