tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : GARCONS COIFFEURS - The Early Years 2005-2010

GARCONS COIFFEURS

The Early Years 2005-2010

MusicCD
New wavePost PunkSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Infrastition
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

This quartet obviously has to blame itself, because if you decide to name your musical project Garçons Coiffeurs, then automatically many eyebrows frown. It does indeed sound a little bit silly, even a bit like Partenaire Particulier or Début de Soirée. Do not worry though, it's just the group's name, the eleven tracks by this foursome from Nice are delicious synthpop with a nod to the cold wave and the best from the 80s.

Also the title of the CD will mislead the listener, because it gives him the illusion that these tracks are lost recordings or so. This is just the first CD of Garçons Coiffeurs with songs that have been recorded between 2005 and 2010. That's all. Or maybe not, because the eleven songs you hear on this album all sound irresistible.

Only the second song Sequelles might make you think that these French will bring you some post punk (with a label like Infrastition that is quite possible), but no, Garçons Coiffeurs creates sublime synthpop that can be situated somewhere in the line of Taxi Girl, Etienne Daho, the early years of Indochine and A Flock Of Seagulls (during their gig, they play Messages, so this comparison is not so out of place).

Sometimes you hear something of The Cure (Garçon Coiffeur has these typical Cure synths from the mid 80s) and Spectateur is punky, so you start muttering the name of Berurier Noir.

No, it's not the kind of music that you normally would associate with a male hairdresser (what can you associate it with anyway?), but The Early Years 2005-2010 is a very nice CD, full of sublime 80s sounds.

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Dit viertal heeft het natuurlijk grotendeels aan zichzelf te danken, want een band die ooit beslist om als Garçons Coiffeurs door het leven te gaan, zorgt er automatisch voor dat menig wenkbrauwen fronsen. Het klinkt inderdaad een beetje lullig, zelfs een beetje zoals Partenaire Particulier of Début de Soirée. Geen nood echter, het is alleen maar de groepsnaam, want de elf tracks die dit viertal uit Nice brengt, zijn overheerlijke synthpop met een knipoog naar de coldwave en het leukste uit de jaren 80.

Ook de titel van de cd zet de luisteraar op het verkeerde been, want het geeft hem de illusie dat het om verloren opnames gaat of zo, maar neen hoor, dit is gewoon de eerste plaat van Garçons Coiffeurs met nummers die zijn opgenomen in de tijdspanne tussen 2005 en 2010. Dat is alles. Of toch niet, want de elf nummers die je op dit schijfje hoort hebben allemaal iets onweerstaanbaars.

Alleen het tweede nummer Sequelles laat je denken dat deze Fransen punkachtige postpunk zullen brengen (met een label als Infrastition is dat immers goed mogelijk), maar neen hoor, Garçons Coiffeurs maken sublieme synthpop die ergens in de lijn ligt van Taxi Girl, Etienne Daho, de beginjaren van Indochine en A Flock Of Seagulls (de heren coveren tijdens hun optredens Messages, dus deze vergelijking is niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen).

Soms hoor je ook wat van The Cure (Garçon Coiffeur bezit de typische Cure-synths uit het midden van de jaren 80) of krijgt Spectateur een punkjasje waardoor je binnensmonds de naam Bérurier Noir begint te prevelen.

Neen, het is niet het soort muziek dat je normaal met een herenkapper associeert (waarmee kan je dat trouwens wel associëren?), maar The Early Years 2005-2010 is een zeer fijn plaatje vol sublieme 80s-klanken. Zet de titel maar in je brief aan de heilige man die geschenken in je schoorsteen gooit!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)