tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

30/12/2011 : GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO - The Sorrows of Young Georgio

GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO

The Sorrows of Young Georgio

MusicVinyl
Unclassifiable

[81/100]   
30/12/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“The Sorrows of Young Georgio” is the debut album (10”) from Georgio ‘the Dove’ Valentino.

He got help from some quite talented people: Blaine L. Reininger and Luc van Lieshout, both (ex?) members of the legendary band TUXEDOMOON, Benjamin Meunier, Patrizia F., Sandrine F. and last but not least, Jeff F. AND it was produced by big shot Pierre Vervloesem!

“Your Poison Is Out of My System” opens “The Sorrows of Young Georgio” and vaguely reminds me of something stylish from Ennio Morricone. It is followed by the beautiful “You Wear Wistful Well”, with a wonderful instrumental outro. “Rejection Is Hard to Accept” brings to mind that other crooner par excellence, Gavin Friday. “2MF” offers a slightly faster deal and with “Suicide Note” Georgio and friends finish in style! 

A pinch of tango, a tad of waltz and a large touch of drama and cabaret “noir”, brought by a bunch of highly talented musicians … seems interesting, doesn’t it?

“The Sorrows of Young Georgio” offers music for demanding customers, refined material that reminds me of “Les Disques Du Crépuscule”, the distinguished label that offered the world many fragile, complex, experimental and elegant (avant-garde) releases. Some names? The Durutti Column, Winston Tong, Paul Haig, Wim Mertens, Soft Verdict, Tuxedomoon, The Names, Steven Brown, Cabaret Voltaire, Anna Domino … Pretty impressive list, isn’t it?

Nanà Dalla Porte is responsible for the tasteful, cartoonish cover art and the 10” was recorded in Brussels.

Are you still looking for a late Christmas gift? “The Sorrows of Young Georgio” won’t disappoint you! 5 beautiful, dark romantic, classy songs wrapped up nicely! Enjoy! And speaking of gifts, buy yourself or your loved ones a couple of brilliant Blaine L. Reininger solo-albums. “Night Air” and “Night Air 2” would be perfect choices!

Just before finishing this review I got some “new” material from Georgio. Sadly enough a download-link, because the picture of the artwork looked really superb, AGAIN! I’ve put new between brackets because the material consists of live versions of the songs on “The Sorrows …”. There’s one extra song (“Sunshine”) to be found on “Au pays de Manneken-pis”, an absolute (first) masterpiece by Georgio and assorted friends. The dove spreads her wings and travels on to well-deserved recognition and fame, so it seems …

“Au pays de Manneken-pis” (CD) is an astonishingly beautiful, live (semi)acoustic set recorded at FNAC in Bruges on Saturday 26 March, 2011. On vocals and occasional 12-string guitar: main man Georgio himself. Luc van Lieshout played trumpet and flugelhorn and Jessica Champeaux played the piano, gently. Lovely stuff indeed! The hyper-minimal arrangements put the emphasis on Georgio’s great voice and the strength of the songs. A score for "Au pays..."? 91 seems justifiable! This is a must-have, dear readers!

Bye for now … and of course, all my best wishes!

Didier PIETERS
30/12/2011


NL

“The Sorrows of Young Georgio” is de debuutplaat (10”) van Georgio ‘the Dove’ Valentino.

Hij kreeg de medewerking van heel wat schoon/getalenteerd (kiest u zelf maar) volk: Blaine L. Reininger en Luc van Lieshout, beiden ooit bij het legendarische TUXEDOMOON, Benjamin Meunier, Patrizia F., Sandrine F. en tot slot nog Jeff F. En achter de knoppen zat Pierre Vervloesem, ook al geen prutser!

“Your Poison Is Out of My System” opent “The Sorrows of Young Georgio” en doet vaag denken aan iets stijlvol van Ennio Morricone. Dan volgt het prachtige “You Wear Wistful Well” met een mooie instrumentale outro. “Rejection Is Hard to Accept” herinnert ons aan die andere crooner par excellence, Gavin Friday (ex Virgin Prunes, maar dat wist u uiteraard). In “2MF” gaat het tempo heel eventjes omhoog en “Suicide Note” sluit waardig af. Een vleugje tango, een likje wals, een flinke scheut drama en cabaret “noir”, gebracht door een batterij klasbakken. Het lijkt u waarschijnlijk ook wel wat …

Dit is muziek voor de CANVAS-kijker, voor meerwaarde-zoekers … “The Sorrows …” ademt klasse en “Les Disques Du Crépuscule” uit. Dat label tekende voor vele elegante, experimentele, fragile, kwetsbare, Avant-gardistische en complexe releases. Enkele bekende namen? The Durutti Column, Winston Tong, Paul Haig, Wim Mertens, Soft Verdict, Tuxedomoon, The Names, Steven Brown, Cabaret Voltaire, Anna Domino … Redelijk indrukwekkend, toch?

Het verzorgde, cartooneske, artwork is van de hand van Nanà Dalla Porte en de 10” werd opgenomen in Brussel.

U bent nog op zoek naar een laat kerstcadeau, voor uzelf bijvoorbeeld? Van deze “Sorrows” zal u geen spijt hebben: 5 mooie, donker-romantische klassenummers, één 10”, 45 toeren “kermisplezier” en dat allemaal in een fraaie hoes … Enjoy! En nu we het toch hebben over geschenken, verblijd uzelf meteen ook met een paar geniale soloalbums van Blaine L. Reininger. “Night Air” en “Night Air 2” zijn wat mij betreft de beste keuzes!

Op de valreep kreeg ik ook nog “nieuw” werk van Georgio ‘The Dove’ Valentino doorgestuurd, jammer genoeg een downloadlink want de hoes is alweer prachtig. De haakjes staan er omdat het hier gaat om live-opnames van de nummers die ook al op “The Sorrows …” stonden, aangevuld met één extra nummer, “Sunshine”.

Na een geslaagd debuut volgt nu dus een eerste bescheiden meesterwerk: “Au pays de Manneken-pis” (CD). De duif slaat haar vleugels verder uit, reizend naar verdiende roem of op zijn minst erkenning?

“Au pays de Manneken-pis” is een ontroerend mooie (semi-)akoestische live-set die werd opgenomen in de FNAC, in Brugge op 26 maart 2011. Georgio tekende voor de stem en de occasionele 12-string gitaar, Luc van Lieshout speelde trompet en flugelhorn en hun vriendin Jessica Brown Champeaux deed haar ding op piano. Lovely stuff indeed. De sobere muzikale omlijsting maakt dat de prachtige stem van Georgio en de sterkte van de nummers nog beter tot hun recht komen. Een cijfer voor "Au pays..."? 91! Een must-have beste lezers …

Ik wens jullie overigens allemaal een fenomenaal 2012! Laat knallen, die kurken!

Didier PIETERS
30/12/2011


Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret