tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare

GILLES BEHAT

Rue Barbare

MovieCult movies
ActionDrama

[81/100]   

Studio Canal
15/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Not everything in life is crystal clear. Someone has to explain me why one of France's best (and if not, surely one of the most brutal) films is totally ignored. It is almost impossible to find the movie on DVD, there is no vendor (not even in France) who has ever heard of it and despite all that, Rue Barbare remains a great cult movie.

The story is simple. It takes place in the future (we do not know exactly when), but it is certainly an era in which any kind of moral sense has been lost. Daniel Chetman (Bernard Giraudeau) has promised himself never to get involved again in the misery of others as it always gets him in trouble. But from the first minutes of the film, he must break that promise when he takes care of a young Chinese girl, who is raped by Matt Hagen (Bernard-Pierre Donnadieu). He better had not done so, because Matt is the leader of the Barbarians, a gang of which he used to be a member. In no time Chetman is embroiled in a game that knows no mercy. He meets his old love Manu again (Christine Boisson, who was once a femme fatale in Emmanuelle).

With some good will you can compare Rue Barbare with Mad Max, at least if you replace the barren desert with some French desolate streets. The characters are so over the top that they're funny, but because of their dangerous excesses they never seem ridiculous. Giraudeau, who later became one of France's finest actors, is excellent as an underdog hero, while Bernard-Pierre Donnadieu (once a terrible serial killer in Spoorloos by George Sluizer) is ideally cast as a dangerous lunatic. Rue Barbare has a very decadent character and was very daring for its time. And let us not forget that brilliant rock soundtrack by Bernard Lavilliers, that fits perfectly with the atmosphere.

Everything about the film is cult, and it is a movie that you should definitely see. It is one that you have to seek at the flea market, which might be a long search (but yours truly can tell you that at the end of the day persistence wins). Rue Barbare was released by StudioCanal through the Crime & Cinema-series. A brilliant series with titles that now have become a collector (also Rue Barbare), for example you have to pay 185 euros on Ebay for Descente aux Enfers with Sophie Marceau. Good luck!

Didier BECU
15/08/2015


NL

Niet alles in het leven is even duidelijk. Zo moet er mij maar eens iemand uitleggen waarom één van Frankrijks beste (en zo niet, toch een van de meest brutale) films totaal genegeerd is. Je vindt de film allesbehalve vlot op dvd, er is geen verkoper (zelfs niet in Frankrijk) die er ooit van gehoord heeft, op de IMDb-site wordt hij amper aangeklikt en toch is Rue Barbare een fantastische cultfilm.

Het verhaal is eenvoudig. Het speelt zich ergens in de toekomst af (wanneer weten we niet precies), maar het is in ieder geval een tijdperk waarin elke vorm van moreel besef verloren is gegaan. Daniel Chetman (Bernard Giraudeau) heeft zichzelf beloofd om zich nooit nog wat aan te trekken van de miserie van anderen, want zijn goede wil heeft hem steeds in de penarie gebracht. Maar vanaf de eerste minuten van de film moet hij deze belofte vaarwel zeggen als hij zich bekommert om een jong Chinees meisje dat verkracht is door Matt Hagen (Bernard-Pierre Donnadieu). Dat had hij beter niet gedaan, want Matt is de leider van de Barbaren, een bende waarvan hij vroeger ook deel uitmaakte. Binnen de kortste keren zit Chetman in een spel verwikkeld dat geen genade kent en ontmoet daardoor opnieuw zijn oude liefje Manu (Christine Boisson, ooit nog een femme fatale in Emmanuelle).

Met wat goede wil kan je Rue Barbare met Mad Max vergelijken, ten minste als je de kale woestijnvlakte door desolate Franse straten vervangt. De karakters zijn zo over the top dat ze grappig zijn, maar door hun gevaarlijke uitspattingen worden ze toch nooit belachelijk. Giraudeau, die later één van Frankrijks beste acteurs zou worden, schittert als held, terwijl Bernard-Pierre Donnadieu (ooit nog een verschrikkelijke seriemoordenaar in Spoorloos van George Sluizer) ideaal is gecast als levensgevaarlijke gek. Rue Barbare heeft een zeer decadent karakter en was zeer gewaagd voor zijn tijd. En laten we ook de briljante rocksoundtrack van Bernard Lavilliers niet vergeten, die perfect bij de sfeer past.

Alles aan de film is cult, en het is eentje die je absoluut moet zien, al zal je de dvd op de rommelmarkt moeten zoeken, en dat is een calvarietocht die wellicht lang kan duren (maar ondergetekende kan je verklappen dat de aanhouder uiteindelijk wint). Rue Barbare werd destijds op Studio Canal via de Crime & Cinema-reeks uitgebracht. Een schitterende serie waarvan nu bijna alle titels een collector zijn geworden (ook Rue Barbare). Zo mag je tegenwoordig voor Descente Aux Enfers met Sophie Marceau op Ebay 185 euro neertellen. Zoeken tussen de rommel dus!

Didier BECU
15/08/2015


15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My